As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Display issues - Sharp Aquos 32" LCD HDTV

HalfmexHalfmex I mock your value systemYou also appear foolish in the eyes of othersRegistered User regular
Christ, I'm about to have a cerebral hemorrhage here.

Ok, so I got (what I thought was) a great deal on an HDTV yesterday from Best Buy: Sharp Aquos 32" LCD HDTV for $519. Whee, right?

Well, unfortunately, no.

See, my thought was that I'd use it as a combination gaming tv and computer monitor. Trouble is, it seems to have issues displaying images on both fronts. Now, before I get into my issue, I must point out that I am brand new to the whole HDTV thing. I've done some cursory browsing of basic FAQs on the subject thinking that basic knowledge would be sufficient. I may have been mistaken.

So, the issue:

The moment I got it hooked up, I fired up GTA IV and was immediately disappointed by what I can only describe as very bland textures throughout the game, specifically skin. It almost looked like a Van Gogh painting, in a way - very "smudgy". I initially chalked it up to a possibly "stylistic choice" by the developers and surmised that it was the intended appearance of those textures. I tried two other games just to be sure (Skate. and Saints Row) and lo and behold, they both suffered from the same issue. Some textures looked very pixellated (sidewalks, concrete steps, and the like) and others, again, looked very washed out or "smudged".