As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Finding a (Design) Job in D.C.

DerrickDerrick Registered User regular
edited December 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So, here is my situation. I graduated from college with a BFA in graphic design a year ago. Since then I've done a freelance project and, due to moving around quite a bit (following a girl), I've been working part time at fedex.

That's really not enough for me though. Since I've gotten to D.C. (about 6 months ago), I've been scrounging careerbuilder and craigslist for design work and have gotten a grand total of ONE interview. And that interview was recent, and I don't think I have the job. In any case, I'm pretty much at my wits end here, and so is my lady with my part time working ass.

I really want to work in design. I think I have a talent for it. The two interview peeps I've gone to before (separate places) seemed to like my work. However getting my foot in the door seems damn near impossible here. All the sites don't want you to call or contact directly, yadda yadda. My resume isn't that hot (since I'm a new grad), so going on just experience alone I'm obviously going to have a hard time. However people DO do these jobs so they have to start somewhere. So, where in the H-E-Double hockey sticks do I start?

I really did not expect this to be so crazy difficult. I've sent out well over 100 resumes. In fact, hell here it is:

My info

Education

Bachelor of Fine Arts (Graphic Design Focus), Magna Cum Laude, Western Kentucky University 2007

Experience

Catered By Cathy – 2007, Freelance Company Identity, creation of logo and layout for marketing,
business effects and packaging

Word and Image in the Book of Kells- 2005, Illustrator, Published April 2006, author Heather Pulliam