Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

The mysteries of upgrading Vista..

autono-wally, erotibot300autono-wally, erotibot300 love machineRegistered User regular
I have Vista Home Premium on my laptop which I got preinstalled. Now, I can download Vista Business from the MSDNAA website of my Uni.. but business apparently comes without media center.

SO, what happens? Do I basically get the features of Vista Home Business and those of Business, meaning I get to keep the media center software, or will it be gone?

autono-wally, erotibot300 on
sc.jpgsc.jpg

Posts

  • autono-wally, erotibot300autono-wally, erotibot300 love machine Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    anyone?
    edit: also note that the msdnaa license is a full license, not just an upgrade license
    so basically, I have vista home premium full and vista business full..

    sc.jpgsc.jpg
  • DírhaelDírhael .noRegistered User regular
    edited July 2008
    You will have to decide on one or the other. You will not get the features from both by installing over the old one. If you have no need for the ability to join a domain, I'd recommend you to just stick with Home Premium. If you really need the full functionality from both, there's always the possibility to do a anytime-upgrade to Ultimate.

    steam.png Steam ::: Dirhael
    xbox.png XBL ::: Tehrig

    ::::: the PA wallpaper dump :::::
  • autono-wally, erotibot300autono-wally, erotibot300 love machine Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    which would be pretty costly, instead of costing 0$

    sc.jpgsc.jpg
  • corcorigancorcorigan Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Dual-boot it?

    Ad Astra Per Aspera
  • wunderbarwunderbar Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    STick with home premium unless you have to connect to a domain or want to connect to the machine remotely via remote desktop.

  • autono-wally, erotibot300autono-wally, erotibot300 love machine Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    yeah, that's what I decided to do. Now, installing this MSDNAA vista on my old desktop is another thing ;)

    sc.jpgsc.jpg
  • bigwahbigwah Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    wunderbar wrote: »
    STick with home premium unless you have to connect to a domain or want to connect to the machine remotely via remote desktop.

    You can still use RDP with Home Premium.
    Spoiler:

    LoL Tribunal:
    "Was cursing, in broken english at his team, and at our team. made fun of dead family members and mentioned he had sex with a dog."
    "Hope he dies tbh but a ban would do."
  • Dark ShroudDark Shroud Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Just to point this out, if you buy a computer with Vista Home Basic you can call MS and buy a license to upgrade it to the better versions at a fraction of the cost. You really just pay the difference. You enter the new key and it will unlock the rest of the features.

Sign In or Register to comment.