As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help me learn to job-hunt!

TrowizillaTrowizilla Registered User regular
edited August 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Okay, so I graduated from college in May of '07. I still don't have my physical diploma due to some missing paperwork I didn't know about, but that's getting sorted out.

However, I've been out of college for over a year and still haven't found work. Here's what I've done so far:

- Had mono for the first two months and was recovering for several weeks after that.

- Signed up to work for a temp agency. Asked them numerous times to email me with jobs because my phone never got reception in my apartment and I check my email a million times a day. They'd agree to do that, but never did, so I'd eventually get voicemails with assignments way too late to do anything about them. On the times that a phone call came through, they'd often ask me to send them extra information or fill out what was essentially an editing sample, but never get back to me and would mysteriously forget about the original assignment when I called them. Very frustrating. I only ever worked one assignment for them, and that was only for a single day.

- Got a "job" as an administrative assistant to a guy who did consulting for call centers. Flew out to a different city because he supposedly wanted someone to take notes for him. Turns out he wanted a hooker and didn't want to pay full price for one, so I had to quit. That lasted all of a week.