Don't like the snow? You can make a bookmark with the following text instead of a url: javascript:snowStorm.toggleSnow(). Clicking it will toggle the snow on and off.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Windows Media Center crashes on startup

LorkLork Registered User regular
...and the new season of House is about to start. Can anybody help me fix it or suggest a good, free TV tuner program that can record things like a Tivo?

Lork on
Steam Profile: Lork
Gamertag: Clorfhanger

Posts

  • .kbf?.kbf? Registered User
    edited September 2008
    There is absolutely no way anyone is going to be able to help you unless you give us some information.

    MY CARS BROKE WHATS WRONG WITH IT! ummmm....

    Give us - Computer specs(if you don't know then the manufacturer and model #), how long you've had it, when this started happening, etc

    The more you tell us the better we will be able to help you

  • JustinSane07JustinSane07 __BANNED USERS regular
    edited September 2008
    What do you use for codecs?

  • LorkLork Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    AMD 64 X2
    ATI HD4850
    3 gigs of ram
    Windows Vista

    I recently upgraded from a Geforce 8400 GS, but the problem started before that.

    Is there any way to get a list of codecs I've installed? I know I have Xvid because it has an uninstaller, but I'm pretty sure I also installed ffdshow and some audio codec.

    I'm guessing from the responses that the second option is unreasonable. Ok then, are there any cheap TV Tuner programs that I can use?

    Steam Profile: Lork
    Gamertag: Clorfhanger
  • JustinSane07JustinSane07 __BANNED USERS regular
    edited September 2008
    Have you tried another media player? Like say Winamps video viewer?

    If that crashes, then you know it's a corruption with your codecs.

    You can also trying uninstalling WMP and reinstalling it. I believe if you uninstall it, it will show up in your Windows Updates.

  • LorkLork Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Have you tried another media player? Like say Winamps video viewer?

    If that crashes, then you know it's a corruption with your codecs.

    You can also trying uninstalling WMP and reinstalling it. I believe if you uninstall it, it will show up in your Windows Updates.
    All my other media players work fine.

    I've already tried reinstalling WMP.

    Steam Profile: Lork
    Gamertag: Clorfhanger
  • JustinSane07JustinSane07 __BANNED USERS regular
    edited September 2008
    So then what happens when you open it up?

  • LorkLork Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    It just gives me this error message right away:

    errormessage.jpg

    Steam Profile: Lork
    Gamertag: Clorfhanger
  • .kbf?.kbf? Registered User
    edited September 2008
    Run a virus scan, just to get that out of the way (not that I think it is a virus but these problems are always guess and check).

    Check out this.

    I hate to be that guy but the link was the first google hit for "windows media center crash".

  • LorkLork Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    .kbf? wrote: »
    Run a virus scan, just to get that out of the way (not that I think it is a virus but these problems are always guess and check).

    Check out this.

    I hate to be that guy but the link was the first google hit for "windows media center crash".
    I've used AVG since I installed Vista up until yesterday, when I replaced it with Avast!. Neither of them have found anything.

    And I don't have "Vista Beta 2" or any kind of movies addon, so that can't be it.

    Edit: And the registry key it mentions doesn't exist on my computer.

    Edit 2: By the way WMP doesn't crash either.

    Steam Profile: Lork
    Gamertag: Clorfhanger
  • .kbf?.kbf? Registered User
    edited September 2008
    When you installed the new video card did you completely remove the old driver before installing the new?

    Have you tried reinstalling media center?

  • stigweardstigweard Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Look up the error information in problems and reports, take a pic, and post it for us.

  • LorkLork Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    stigweard wrote: »
    Look up the error information in problems and reports, take a pic, and post it for us.
    I looked at that and saw "Unauthorized access", which gave me the idea to run it as an administrator. It worked, and now I can open it normally without it crashing. Weird.

    Thanks!

    Steam Profile: Lork
    Gamertag: Clorfhanger
Sign In or Register to comment.