Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Gigabyte Motherboard Issue

JustinSane07JustinSane07 __BANNED USERS regular
edited September 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So my friend has a brand new Gigabyte motherboard. She couldn't get it to work, I went over there. Nothing for me either. Everything is plugged in properly, we tried two different video cards that we know work, a brand new DVD drive, and a new hard drive. Everything powers on, all the fans spin, but no picture ever pops up on the monitor.

Now here's the thing, unlike my A-BIT, the Gigabyte doesn't have error codes on it. It does have a set of LEDs. I figure I would look up the LED combination and see what it means. The manual? No help. The Gigabyte site? No help. A quick glance at Google produced no help either (granted, I didn't look too deeply).

IMG_0157.jpg

You can see the LEDs there near the memory. It goes from top to bottom..
Red
Orange(could be yellow)
Green
Green


We're thinking either the PCI slots on mobo are DOA or her power supply can't handle the new video card. There is no on board video with this mobo though. But we tried it with her 8800GT and her old 5500. I didn't even bother with the GTX260.

So yeah, any help would be awesome.

JustinSane07 on

Posts

  • shadydentistshadydentist Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    So, no idea if it even POSTs? What model is it? Maybe post the system stats?

    Steam & GT
    Spoiler:
  • FadeToBrightFadeToBright Registered User
    edited September 2008
    This would be my computer.

    System specs:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
    EVGA GTX260 896MB
    Samsung 20X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE (NewEgg send me an IDE burner instead of a SATA, but they refunded me the $ for the IDE drive. o_O)
    G.SKILL 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) x 2
    Antec 900 case
    Antec Trio 550w PSU.

  • JustinSane07JustinSane07 __BANNED USERS regular
    edited September 2008
    So, no idea if it even POSTs? What model is it? Maybe post the system stats?

    Not a damn clue. Nothing but black monitor screens.

    and yeah, she posted her specs.

  • JustinSane07JustinSane07 __BANNED USERS regular
    edited September 2008
    Oh fuck us both. We forgot the 4pin 12v mother board plug.

    Christ, of all fucking things.

    It's empty in the picture I took too. God damn it.

  • FadeToBrightFadeToBright Registered User
    edited September 2008
    Yeah but now it freezes at the boot menu. D:

  • shadydentistshadydentist Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Can you get into BIOS?

    Steam & GT
    Spoiler:
  • blahblah Registered User
    edited September 2008
    Try flashing the CMOS

  • SzechuanosaurusSzechuanosaurus Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited September 2008
    Some gigabyte boards are prone to flexing IIRC. When you screw them into the case they flex almost imperceptibly. It doesn't damage the board but it does make the difference between certain components like RAM from connecting properly. They can appear to be pushed in as far as they will go, but because of that flex they aren't quite there. Solution is to go against convention and undo at least a couple of the screws attaching board to case and then reseating all the components before screwing it back in.

Sign In or Register to comment.