Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

This has been some week

EriosErios Registered User regular
edited October 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
My computer was having problems it was locking up when I was preforming certain tasks, so I tried a system restore and it didn't seem to work to well, so now I really need to get my documents and other stuff before I re-image it. The problem is that every time I start up, windows start up repair automatically pops up and fails to fix anything and I can't get around it.

I use windows vista 64.

Erios on
Steam: erios23, Live: Coconut Flavor, Origin: erios2386.

Posts

  • AdrossAdross Registered User
    edited October 2008
    The best thing I think of is to bypass windows altogether. Download an ubuntu live cd and boot off that. It will mount all of your ntfs drives which you can place onto another drive, allowing you to re-image it risk free.
    www.ubuntu.com

    Human knowledge belongs to the world
  • romanqwertyromanqwerty Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Can you put your HD in another computer and copy data off it without running windows from it?

  • EriosErios Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Can you put your HD in another computer and copy data off it without running windows from it?

    Not likely, it's a laptop HDD, so I'm not sure if that would work. However, I will give it a shot assuming it will still hook up to a sata cable like any normal sata drive (never messed with laptop HDs before).

    Oh and I use vista 32, not that it matters.

    Steam: erios23, Live: Coconut Flavor, Origin: erios2386.
  • Torque MonkeyTorque Monkey Registered User
    edited October 2008
    Vista so it's a newer computer, run over to best buy or even like walmart and buy a SATA dock or enclosure, use it and get your stuff off the drive.

    Gojira2.png
  • wunderbarwunderbar Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Erios wrote: »
    Can you put your HD in another computer and copy data off it without running windows from it?

    Not likely, it's a laptop HDD, so I'm not sure if that would work. However, I will give it a shot assuming it will still hook up to a sata cable like any normal sata drive (never messed with laptop HDs before).

    Oh and I use vista 32, not that it matters.

    If it's a newer laptop, it will have a SATA drive which is the exact same interface as SATA on a desktop PC, just need cable and power and you're good.

  • supabeastsupabeast Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    If it’s a laptop you can still boot from a Linux CD and use that to dump the files to a USB hard drive. Which you need to buy so that you can backup files and not run into this problem again.

  • DeciusDecius Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Erios wrote: »
    Can you put your HD in another computer and copy data off it without running windows from it?

    Not likely, it's a laptop HDD, so I'm not sure if that would work. However, I will give it a shot assuming it will still hook up to a sata cable like any normal sata drive (never messed with laptop HDs before).

    Oh and I use vista 32, not that it matters.

    A great tool for moving data of hard drives without have to take apart both computers and fiddle with internal cabling is one of these. We have like 3 of them at work, and I have 1 at home.

    camo_sig2.png
    I never finish anyth
  • EriosErios Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Linux Live Cd (NimbleX) solved my problem!

    Steam: erios23, Live: Coconut Flavor, Origin: erios2386.
Sign In or Register to comment.