As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

So I've got some ideas...(Updated)

Tweaked_Bat_Tweaked_Bat_ Registered User regular
edited November 2006 in Artist's Corner
We've currently got a project to complete at college. It involves creating a website on which to display our personal portfolios. This is an idea I've been sitting on for a few months now, and now that I'm doing the subject, it's kinda shifted me back into gear.

So I had some ideas tonight which kinda just "appeared" in my brain for how I roughly want the site to look, which I have posted below. Keep in mind these are rough "thumbnails" if you will, and have been whipped together on the spot, just placing ideas from my mind onto paper (or computer) as they appear.

I'm trying to get a central line/margin and have my elements stem from it, rather than from the typical left alignment you see oftentimes.

Please feel free to give me pointers/crits/tips on this kind of layout (things to keep in mind; what works, what doesn't etc). This is an idea I plan on sticking to, and I want to see how far I can take it.

As time progresses I'll add more detailed work, and eventually, the finished product.

layout1.jpg
layout2.jpg
layout3.jpg
layout4.jpg
layout5.jpg
layout6.jpg

The colours were simply the colours that came to mind when thinking of this. The beige blocks you see in some designs are meant to represent graphics of some sort, or just variations in texture/colour or whatever.

I'm hoping to eventually get the style resembling a "modernised nouveau" type kinda thing. (ie: addition of some non-symmetrical lines/elements juxtaposed with some more modern elements, such as sharp edges etc).

Yeah I'm just crapping out stuff off the top of my head here, so bear with it :P