As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Becoming a Paramedic? Bad?

Tucanwarrior13Tucanwarrior13 Registered User regular
edited December 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I've posted one or two threads here, and so far I have gotten nothing but great advice. I'm a sophmore college student, and I'm currently going to become a paramedic. I really like the idea of the job, but I have been told that A. the pay is bad. B. there is no opening for jobs beyond it C. no job security.

I feel like those are all completely untrue, because I have talked with a few paramedics in my area. I was thinking that after I get my paramedics licesence I could go back to become a Flight Nurse.

Am I completley off base with thinkning I will have a happy, and successful career as a paramedic?

Replies from nurses, EMTs, Paramedics, Doctors, and Flight Nurses are a bonus.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tucanwarrior13 on

• Options
    PeregrineFalconPeregrineFalcon Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Source - Three friends are paramedics.

"You may meet someone having the worst day of their life. Sometimes it's also the last day of their life."

You'll have to be prepared for that, physically and emotionally, every day that you go in to work.

PeregrineFalcon on
    Looking for a DX:HR OnLive code for my kid brother.
    Can trade TF2 items or whatever else you're interested in. PM me.
  • Options
    -Phil--Phil- Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    If possible I would suggest that you go straight for county of city Fire Rescue. The pay is pretty good and there is job security (mind you, this is in Florida).

-Phil- on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Options
    Dunadan019Dunadan019 Registered User regular
    edited December 2008