As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

rundll32.exe problem

Liquid HellzLiquid Hellz Registered User regular
edited March 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I recently had to install windows xp over my previous version of xp on the same hard drive, did not do a format because I needed my files. Now whenever I turn the computer on it lags up really bad and gets real slow until I end rundll32.exe process(s). Then it frees up again and I can go about my business like normal. What do I do?

What I do for a living:
Home Inspection and Wind Mitigation
http://www.FairWindInspections.com/
Liquid Hellz on

• Options
    Dunadan019Dunadan019 Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    options:

A) keep doing what you are doing, there are many programs that i close on startup (but i rarely start up)

B) backup your files, format your hard drive and reinstall windows correctly.

i suggest B.

Dunadan019 on
  • Options
    edited March 2009
    Damn, thats what I didn't want to hear.. Hope someone else has a different solution. If not then oh well.

Liquid Hellz on
    What I do for a living:
  • Options
    exoplasmexoplasm Gainfully Employed Near Blizzard HQRegistered User regular
    edited March 2009
    use process explorer to find out what is using rundll32.exe and why its causing problems

exoplasm on
    1029386-1.png
    SC2 NA: exoplasm.519 | PA SC2 Mumble Server | My Website | My Stream
  • Options
    shadydentistshadydentist Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    If you're reinstalling an OS, you should always completely reformat.

I also suggest B.

shadydentist on
    Steam & GT
    steam_sig.png
    GT: Tanky the Tank
    Black: 1377 6749 7425
  • Options
    edited March 2009
    exoplasm wrote: »