As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Purchasing an 800 number for a business.

Liquid HellzLiquid Hellz Registered User regular
edited March 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Anyone know of a service that sells 800 numbers for a flat rate? I would like to be able to set it up so it forwards the phone calls only between 8am and 4pm. I also would like it to transcribe messages into text/email and have them stored somewhere so I can log in a view them. Be nice if it also recorded the number/name/address of person who called.

What I do for a living:
Home Inspection and Wind Mitigation
http://www.FairWindInspections.com/
Liquid Hellz on

• Options
    necroSYSnecroSYS Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited March 2009
    What kind of a business are we talking about? A business or a "business"?

Most carriers (AT&T, Verizon, etc) will sell you a toll-free number and basic services that go with it. If you want the numbers to terminate at the carrier after hours, you'll pay extra for that.

If your business is already up and running, you probably already have a carrier terminating lines at your premises. That's the carrier you want to go to for the TFN.

The other stuff you want (messaging, e-mailing messages, etc) isn't usually covered by the carrier (that I've ever heard). You usually have to buy a third party system (Cisco Unity Express, for example) to have those functions. If you don't know how to set it up, prepare to spend more money hiring a tech or hiring a contractor to do it for you.

necroSYS on
  • Options
    Enos316Enos316 Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    You might also be interested in Google voice when it comes out, it should be free:

Google Voice

Enos316 on

Enos.jpg
  • Options
    edited March 2009