As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Keeping up with philosophy

PolloDiabloPolloDiablo Registered User regular
edited April 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I know we've got some other philosophy geeks around here, so I figure it couldn't hurt to ask.

So, as an undergrad I was a Philosophy/English major. At my school at least, we studied the classical philosophers extensively, and I only had a handful of courses on contemporary philosophy. Since I graduated I kind of stopped exploring new philosophers. I'm tired of feeling like I'm missing out. What's the best way to keep on top of new philosophers and theories? Do any of you subscribe to the various journals? Which would you recommend? I'm mostly looking for developments in analytics and such, not necessarily debates on older systems of philosophy.

So, how do you guys keep up on current trends in philosophy?

PolloDiablo on

• BurnageBurnage Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    If you've still got access to a campus library or a uni internet account, www.philpapers.org has an incredible number of papers in any aspect of the subject you care to name. Even if you're not on a campus, there's still a fair few you can look at.

Burnage on
  • PolloDiabloPolloDiablo Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    That's a cool looking site, thanks.

PolloDiablo on
  • cooljammer00cooljammer00 Hey Small Christmas-Man!Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    I would have thought there'd be no new philosophies, since people are still adhering to the old ones.

cooljammer00 on
    steam_sig.png

3DS Friend Code: 2165-6448-8348 www.Twitch.TV/cooljammer00
    Battle.Net: JohnDarc#1203 Origin/UPlay: CoolJammer00
    edited April 2009
    There's always more philosophy to think up.

PolloDiablo on