Hello, you may now embed "gifv" simply by pasting the link (same as youtube). Enjoy!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

The Workshop - Tips, Tricks, and Theory

• Captain HeavysteinCaptain Heavystein Registered User
    edited August 2007
    Thank you all very much. I needed more oppinions on this, since the people I have consulted in beta perspective read often, but do not write. As a scientist, I am not fond of one-sided observations, and I appreciate the gamma. (Three dimensions gives my basis volume!) I will work to minimize my wordiness on this one.

Again, many thanks.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • MuncieMuncie Registered User regular
    edited August 2007
    It's not about big words or little words, it's about having the right word. Prose need a rhythm to work. This rhythm can be established with short, terse sentences like Hemingway and it can be established with the long, flowing, dense prose of Faulkner. Next time you're at a book store read the first paragraph of Farewell to Arms and then read the first page or so of The Sound and Fury. They are vastly different, but with both there is not a word misplaced.

A big part of this is finding a voice, which in a sense is the same thing as finding a style. If you artificially reduce your word choices for the sake of following some modernistic ideal your writing is going to come off insincere at best, artificial at worst.