As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Pharmaceuticals Career Advice

SideAffectsSideAffects Registered User regular
edited May 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I know I'm taking a long shot here in seeking advice from a forum where the majority of people seem to be artists/IT people, but it certainly can't hurt :)

The title sums it up: I'm looking to push my career forward in pharmaceuticals. I have a few years experience in the microbiology lab doing QC at a parenteral plant. In the past few years I have been accelerated by promotions to an Analyst position, and at my current company I see little to no opportunity for future advancement. While my schooling and major work experience is in Microbiology, I am not entirely committed to this field. There are numerous examples of company managers of pharma plants starting out as temporary employee QC technicians and eventually through vertical movement getting the big-wig positions. My manager, for example, had no Microbiology experience prior to his hiring...he simply has played the field in Validation, Production, and QA. If it helps I would like to point out that I have very significant experience in sterile manufacturing. The types of projects I have worked on (due to the nature of working at a start-up facility) speak far more than the time I have put in here. I think although my "years" experience and age might work against me, I am very competant and familiar with Senior-level laboratory testing.