As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Will I want a laptop for college?

FaynorFaynor Registered User regular
edited June 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hi there!

So, I'm approaching my first semester at college at the end of the summer, and I'm not sure what to do with my graduation money. My major is liberal arts because I don't really know what I want to be (which is also why I'm only going to a 2 year community college, and then a 4 year university).

That said, do I want a laptop? I have a perfectly good desktop at home. I mean, it's not like my major is graphic design or whatever, and I've heard people say laptops can be overrated for college.

Thoughts?

do you wanna see me eat a hotdog
Faynor on

• TexiKenTexiKen Dammit! That fish really got me!Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    I didn't use one, I just had a notepad for each class and took notes that way. If you already have a desktop you'll be fine.

TexiKen on
  • KyouguKyougu Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    It's more convenient, since it's nice to be able to use it to type notes, or if you have a break between classes you can chill and use the internet, and I found it useful to work on papers that I had stored on my macbook during said breaks.

None the less I didn't have a computer till I was a senior. Notebooks were just fine for my majority of time in school.

Kyougu on
  • SniperGuySniperGuy SniperGuyGaming Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    It honestly depends. I usually take my desktop to school with me as I use it for games and such, but I've also got a netbook. Before the netbook I had a macbook pro which I used a bit, but eventually got tired of lugging it around.