As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Potato with roots growing - Still good?

UnderdogUnderdog Registered User regular
edited September 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Pretty self explanatory. I've got some potatoes, there are a few very small "roots" coming out of some of the pores. My mother is convinced we'll all be poisoned if we eat them, I think they're still good. Anyone know for sure?

Underdog on

• SeiphonSeiphon Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    now I'm no expert, but arent potatoes part of the deadly night shade family? If my info's correct then yes, if you ate those roots you may indeed be poisoned. Luckily for you, all you need to do is cut off those pesky poisoness roots and you taters should be fine. I am irish, I should know potatoes.

Seiphon on
  • oldsakoldsak Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    http://www.organicfacts.net/organic-vegetables/organic-potato/potato-sprouts-are-they-good.html
    Potato sprouts are certainly not good. When potatoes sprout, the starch in the potatoes is converted into sugar. It is suggested that if the potato is firm, it has most of the nutrients intact and can be eaten after removing the sprouted part. However, if the potato is shrunken and wrinkled, it should not be eaten.

A new bag of potatoes is what, $3?

oldsak on
  • UnderdogUnderdog Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    oldsak wrote: »
    http://www.organicfacts.net/organic-vegetables/organic-potato/potato-sprouts-are-they-good.html