As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Meals to cook for 30 people

NeadenNeaden Registered User regular
edited September 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey all. So I'm in a student org at university and we occasionally have dinner get togethers. Usually it is just simple stuff like tacos or sloppy joes but honestly after 3 years, I'm getting fairly bored with it. I'm a decent cook but I don't really have much experience cooking for that many people. Anyone know any good and cheap recipes that can add some variety?

Neaden on

• Options
    FattronicusFattronicus Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    I don't have any specific recipes but mostaccoli? Spaghetti? A big ass lasagna? Although after 3 years I'm more than positive some of these have already been touched on.

Fattronicus on
    76561197968482768.png
  • Options
    matt has a problemmatt has a problem Points to 'off' Points to 'on'Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    You're going to have to define "cheap" for 30 people really.

matt has a problem on
    nibXTE7.png
  • Options
    starmanbrandstarmanbrand Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    What sort of vessels are you limited to using for cooking? The easiest thing will be something cold. Salads and sandwiches? next will probably be soups/stews. Chili and cornbread? Then the next ladder up will probably be baked casseroles, such as enchiladas or macaroni and cheeses. Stuff you wont have to portion out to serve. I doubt you'll want to grill or saute things.

I'd probably do http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Insalata_Caprese with maybe some balsamic and then some bruchetta. Depending on the group it could be veg, like grilled vegetable, or something with some cured meat on it.