As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Playing Guitar through the PC

stigweardstigweard Registered User regular
edited March 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I picked up a used guitar and practise amp a month or so ago to learn how to play. I ended up trading the used guitar in for a new one this week having decided I am going to keep with it. For those curious, I went from this which buzzed when the selector was on 2 and 4 and wouldn't stay in tune for any length of time, and this which had a slightly wider, more comfortable neck and humbuckers that had a warmer, thicker sound. From what I've been told, it is a pretty lateral move, but I am a beginner and I don't want to sink a ton of money into gear until I can actually use it to its potential.

While I was there, I tried out a few guitars on a 1000$ Crate kit that made my ham fisted chords sound beautiful and made me realize just how bad my ~30 year old 10 watt Yamaha practise amp really is. I can't afford to blow a ton of cash on a new amp right now so I was wondering if anyone had any experience playing through the pc using software preamp / pedals to adjust the sound. I know there is a ton of software out there for this, so I am asking what a good setup for a beginner would be and if it is even possible to make a pc sound better than a broken practise amp.

tl;dr -> looking to setup a PC for a beginner playing guitar.

stigweard on

• Options
    SpackleSpackle Registered User regular
    edited March 2007
    How much are you willing to spend, what kind of PC gear do you have now?

It seems by the time you get the sound coming out of your speakers to be fairly decent, you could have bought a used amp thats a ton more reliable. What if you want to play at a friends? Going to cart your PC with you?