As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Sedentary Lifestyles suck. Now how do you really fix one?

TeyarTeyar Registered User regular
edited February 2010 in Debate and/or Discourse
So, like a lot of you, I play a lot of video games. And read TVtropes. And hoard digital comics. And chat endlessly with friends. And facebook. And just being stuck in a depression-wave funk. And then there's - okay you get the point here.

The force-multiplying problem is, I work as a pizza driver nowadays, so my physical activity has dropped from "whatever I got at work, and walking to and from" to.... zip. Zilcho. And I wonder how many other people have started there and wound up turning into blob-whales. Like the other pizza driver who's about my body frame and twice my size. And I'm big as it is.

Not a fun idea. But its a bitch altering your everyday habits, sooooooooo....

My fellow whateverans! What sort of habits / life alterations / methods / ideas have you found effective for getting the hell off the couch in a long term, meaningful way?

Kick At The Darkness Until It Bleeds Daylight
Teyar on

• Options
    SkyGheNeSkyGheNe Registered User regular
    edited January 2010
    I climb trees.

It's fun, a great way of building muscles and exercising, and makes me feel like a kid again.

It's also really impressive when you've practiced so much that you can scale a tree in a matter of seconds like spider-man. You start to spot patterns, learn about which branches are safe/unsafe, and also what your limits are.

I learned mine when I attempted to jump from one branch and swing to another. I think I feel 20 feet, and the result made me look like I was a falling starfish that landed on my head.

This was all recorded and put on youtube. I do not regret it.

SkyGheNe on
  • Options