As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Proper etiquette for college degrees in an email signature?

Enos316Enos316 Registered User regular
edited August 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Just curious what people thought about this. I am a Network Engineer at a large hospital and was looking to update my email signature.

I have a Bachelor's degree in Management Information Systems. Would it make sense to add this to my sig line? Many others in the hospital do so with their credentials. Just wondering if there was maybe a minimum level of education to be listed or if it comes across as boasting. Or since I'm IT does no one really give a shit?

Thanks.

For example:

Michael Fake BS, MIS
Fake Hospital
Network Engineer
p:860-555-5555
f:860-555-5555
e:fake@fake.org

Enos.jpg
Enos316 on

• CauldCauld Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    I woudn't put a Bachelors Degree in my email sig, personally. I'd only do ones that changed my title (like Dr).

Cauld on
  • DeebaserDeebaser on my way to work in a suit and a tie Ahhhh...come on fucking guyRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Don't list your bachelor's degree in your email sig.

Deebaser on
  • urahonkyurahonky Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Honestly, since you're IT they probably don't care as long as their printer works. :P

urahonky on
  • PriestPriest Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    The common etiquette goes as such -

If you work in Academia, you post your education in your sig.

If you work in the Private Sector, doing so makes you a dick.

Your sig already says Network Engineer.

ENGINEER. Anyone who doesn't respect that is a tool, as it is a name is commensurate with your level of education.