Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

The [Android] Thread: We like portable shower buttons

15657586062

Posts

  • mtsmts Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    yea i think the larger version says the whole thing.

    i just checked. teh large version says the entire thing

    camo_sig.png
  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    battstatt is nice. except it doesn't understand what no background means.

    this is fun, re doin my issshhhh

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • BucketmanBucketman Dyslexic Puppy Skraggle RockRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    god, I am ready to be done with the G1 now. I've had 3 in the last year and then for no reason now mine won't turn on. It worked fine literally 5 minuets ago when I made a call.

    35nvhoy8kmla.png
  • AllforceAllforce Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Variable wrote: »
    battstatt is nice. except it doesn't understand what no background means.

    this is fun, re doin my issshhhh

    Yes it does, look at mine above. The issue is there's a "No Background" box that defaults to "off" but you have to toggle it once to on then off for just the words to show up with no transparent background. Its just weird but you're right in that it doesn't understand what it's own options mean.

  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Allforce wrote: »
    Variable wrote: »
    battstatt is nice. except it doesn't understand what no background means.

    this is fun, re doin my issshhhh

    Yes it does, look at mine above. The issue is there's a "No Background" box that defaults to "off" but you have to toggle it once to on then off for just the words to show up with no transparent background. Its just weird but you're right in that it doesn't understand what it's own options mean.

    yeah I got it, used a different size of the widget


    now I am trying to make shortcuts with custom icons and they just aren't showing up. grrrrrrrr. working on it.

    edit - yeah. choose shortcut, application, change icon... and it just doesn't show up. no shortcut appears. launcherpro nooooooo

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • mtsmts Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    are you talking the dock or just general icons?

    if general i would just use desktop visualizer

    camo_sig.png
  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    general. I have certain ones that work but a bunch don't. I could swear they did at first. fuckckckck

    I already use launcherpro for how it all looks I don't want to add something else when this should work.

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • mtsmts Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    desktop visualizer is free and is what most people on teh launcherpro forums use

    camo_sig.png
  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    alright you convinced me

    still don't see why it doesn't work but whatever.

    thank you.

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • AllforceAllforce Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    LP will work but you can't resize the shortcut icons at all. Kind of a pain in the ass. Desktop Visualizer works perfect and even has the widgets to make the icons whatever size you want.

  • KazooKazoo Get in the van. I have candy.Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Allforce wrote: »
    Finally figured out how to take screenshots, what a hassle. Managed to snag one before the entire Android SDK stuff just stopped working and then completely disappeared from my PC. Anyways here's what I got going right now, thought some of you might enjoy it. I change the background image pretty often but have been keeping the same basic look to the homescreen.

    4 shortcuts there with custom icons, each opens up into what you expect (games, news, multimedia, tools).

    Next dock screen is Web, Facebook, Twitter, and Market but I could only grab the one screenshot for now.

    923a.png


    Edit: Got it working again yay! Incoming photos ahoy!

    That looks amazing, what is that?

  • Iceman.USAFIceman.USAF Captain East CoastRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Kazoo wrote: »
    Allforce wrote: »
    Finally figured out how to take screenshots, what a hassle. Managed to snag one before the entire Android SDK stuff just stopped working and then completely disappeared from my PC. Anyways here's what I got going right now, thought some of you might enjoy it. I change the background image pretty often but have been keeping the same basic look to the homescreen.

    4 shortcuts there with custom icons, each opens up into what you expect (games, news, multimedia, tools).

    Next dock screen is Web, Facebook, Twitter, and Market but I could only grab the one screenshot for now.

    923a.png


    Edit: Got it working again yay! Incoming photos ahoy!

    That looks amazing, what is that?

    Agreed, how do I make my android look like this?



  • ShadowfireShadowfire Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Allforce wrote: »
    Shadowfire wrote: »
    Alright, so my wife is completely done with 2.2 on her incredible. Anyone have any idea how to get back to 2.1? We'll root it, hack it, whatever it takes... the phone is almost completely unusable now.

    Can you be more specific in what you mean by "completely unusable"? I guess I'm not understanding what the problem is here on it, is it something like "well now it's really slow compared to before" or is it as severe as "It just shuts off when I try to make a phone call"?

    I've just read nothing about any problems with 2.2 on Incredible on any of the usual Droid news sites and blogs about this, makes me wonder if yours is just a faulty phone. I know you said "Well the Verizon rep said a lot of people are having issues..." which doesn't inspire much confidence in me since those people rarely know whats going on with their own products.

    Hell even saying that, before you go ahead and root it and ruin the warranty if its that bad you might as well take it in to the store and show someone whats going on. Rooting it means you'll have no luck ever getting it replaced if there is something that their software caused that made the phone a brick.

    The problem is that it's just not working right. Ever since the upgrade, her phone signal goes from 2-0 bars most of the time, more often than not 0. This is making the phone work harder for a signal, and her battery dies within a few hours. The 3G and wi-fi also shut off randomly. Not just "the icon is dark and things don't download," but "the icon is gone and shit doesn't work." Sometimes turning off and on whatever is failing works, sometimes it takes a reboot. She's also not able to receive texts correctly, instead getting them in batches (i.e. a few people will send her texts, but she'll receive them all at the same time later in the day). All of this started literally the day after the update, and she hasn't installed any other apps since.

    Seriously, Verizon has been no help. Taking it to the store doesn't help since the people at the store know nothing about the Incredible (the local Verizon stores mostly don't even carry it, just the X and Droid 2). Very frustrating.

    steam_sig.png
    WiiU: Windrunner ; Guild Wars 2: Shadowfire.3940 ; PSN: Bradcopter
  • AllforceAllforce Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    It sounds like you're going to a "licensed dealer" and not a corporate Verizon store if they're claiming to not know anything about one of the most popular phone models they carry.

    You have to find one of their official corporate stores and deal with someone who works for the company and not just a licensed reseller.

  • StaxeonStaxeon Registered User
    edited September 2010
    Shadowfire wrote: »
    Allforce wrote: »
    Shadowfire wrote: »
    Alright, so my wife is completely done with 2.2 on her incredible. Anyone have any idea how to get back to 2.1? We'll root it, hack it, whatever it takes... the phone is almost completely unusable now.

    Can you be more specific in what you mean by "completely unusable"? I guess I'm not understanding what the problem is here on it, is it something like "well now it's really slow compared to before" or is it as severe as "It just shuts off when I try to make a phone call"?

    I've just read nothing about any problems with 2.2 on Incredible on any of the usual Droid news sites and blogs about this, makes me wonder if yours is just a faulty phone. I know you said "Well the Verizon rep said a lot of people are having issues..." which doesn't inspire much confidence in me since those people rarely know whats going on with their own products.

    Hell even saying that, before you go ahead and root it and ruin the warranty if its that bad you might as well take it in to the store and show someone whats going on. Rooting it means you'll have no luck ever getting it replaced if there is something that their software caused that made the phone a brick.

    The problem is that it's just not working right. Ever since the upgrade, her phone signal goes from 2-0 bars most of the time, more often than not 0. This is making the phone work harder for a signal, and her battery dies within a few hours. The 3G and wi-fi also shut off randomly. Not just "the icon is dark and things don't download," but "the icon is gone and shit doesn't work." Sometimes turning off and on whatever is failing works, sometimes it takes a reboot. She's also not able to receive texts correctly, instead getting them in batches (i.e. a few people will send her texts, but she'll receive them all at the same time later in the day). All of this started literally the day after the update, and she hasn't installed any other apps since.

    Seriously, Verizon has been no help. Taking it to the store doesn't help since the people at the store know nothing about the Incredible (the local Verizon stores mostly don't even carry it, just the X and Droid 2). Very frustrating.

    Probably upgraded the OS but not the radio version.

    When I jumped from eclair to froyo (rooted HTC Hero) I also upgraded the radio version, then cleared the battery stats. If you're seriously fed up with that Incredible I'd root it and throw something like cyanogen on it, but as mentioned doing so will void any and all warantees you have. Take it to the store first and see what they can do.

    Invisible nap is the best nap of all time!
    No man should have that kind of power.
    (Twitter)
  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    bummer I need to root for a screenshot, I want to show this off.

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • EndEnd Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Variable wrote: »
    bummer I need to root for a screenshot, I want to show this off.

    Doesn't the SDK do it?

    You'd have to plug it in, of course.

    zaleiria-by-lexxy-sig.jpgsteam~tinythumb.png
  • pheknophekno Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Mah fone...
    device.png
    I have seven home screens, but I'm lazy and don't want to get caps of all of them.

    The background is from a shirt that was featured on Woot once upon a time.

    steam_sig.png
  • LanglyLangly Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    I just ordered the G2!

    Yaaaayyyyy

  • AllforceAllforce Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Whats you agenda and weather widgets dude? I like that agenda widget alot

  • pheknophekno Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Weather widget is called Snowstorm.
    Agenda is called Smooth Calendar.

    steam_sig.png
  • EndEnd Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Langly wrote: »
    I just ordered the G2!

    Yaaaayyyyy

    high five

    except I guess its getting shipped to my parent's house

    oooops

    Edit: Wait, what the hell. the email has the wrong address listed, but their website says it'll be shipping to the right one.

    weird

    zaleiria-by-lexxy-sig.jpgsteam~tinythumb.png
  • nexuscrawlernexuscrawler Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    i'm confused on icons

    I got desktop visualizer but it has like no icon packs

    not a fan of applauncher

    what other options are there?

  • mtsmts Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    desktop visulaizer will put any picture on as a widgit/icon. but you need to provide the icon either by downloading it or making one yourself. it doesn't come with any

    camo_sig.png
  • nexuscrawlernexuscrawler Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    mts wrote: »
    desktop visulaizer will put any picture on as a widgit/icon. but you need to provide the icon either by downloading it or making one yourself. it doesn't come with any

    so it'll work with other stuffs icon packs?

  • mtsmts Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    as long as its on your phone it will

    camo_sig.png
  • DigDug2000DigDug2000 Registered User
    edited September 2010
    End wrote: »
    Variable wrote: »
    bummer I need to root for a screenshot, I want to show this off.

    Doesn't the SDK do it?

    You'd have to plug it in, of course.
    http://blog.lassey.us/2010/09/13/android-screen-shots-without-rooting-your-phone/

  • MegaMan001MegaMan001 CRNA Boston, MARegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Spool froyo on my droid x. I can finally watch flash video.

    I am in the business of saving lives.

    camo_sig2.png
  • Centipede DamascusCentipede Damascus One day I will kill a god.Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Langly wrote: »
    I just ordered the G2!

    Yaaaayyyyy

    Me too!

    SO EXCITED

  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    chrome2phone is even cooler than I thought

    I used it yesterday to send individual icons to my phone rather than having to sort through icon packs

    and I just tried sending text and it can do that too, highlight text and right click, chrome2phone, and it gets sent to your phone clipboard.

    everyone may know this already but I just found out, so cool.

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • nexuscrawlernexuscrawler Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    *hangs head in shame for downloading full icon packs*

  • Ah_PookAh_Pook Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    i dont know anything about android, so bear with me. if i get an epic 4g will i be able to customize the icons and everything like you dudes have that have posted screenshots?

    sig_zpsceb29fbe.jpg
  • KazakKazak Registered User
    edited September 2010
    Ah_Pook wrote: »
    i dont know anything about android, so bear with me. if i get an epic 4g will i be able to customize the icons and everything like you dudes have that have posted screenshots?

    Yes. Android allows for a lot of customization options out of the box. However, a lot more become available when you "root" the phone. i.e. You bypass the internal security.

  • LewiePLewieP Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Variable wrote: »
    chrome2phone is even cooler than I thought

    I used it yesterday to send individual icons to my phone rather than having to sort through icon packs

    and I just tried sending text and it can do that too, highlight text and right click, chrome2phone, and it gets sent to your phone clipboard.

    everyone may know this already but I just found out, so cool.

    Oh wow, that's very cool.

    Google maps pages opens them in google maps.

  • Ah_PookAh_Pook Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    im not really looking to hack around on my phone, i dunno. also doesnt rooting void your warranty?

    sig_zpsceb29fbe.jpg
  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Ah_Pook wrote: »
    im not really looking to hack around on my phone, i dunno. also doesnt rooting void your warranty?

    I feel the same way and have as much customization visually going on as anyone.

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • RBachRBach Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    Rooting does void your warranty. It's the only reason I haven't yet.

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • nexuscrawlernexuscrawler Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    the biggest downside to this phone is I will sit here till the end of days customizing it

  • VariableVariable Weed and Masturbation Stroke Me Lady FameRegistered User regular
    edited September 2010
    the biggest downside to this phone is I will sit here till the end of days customizing it

    yeah, I finally had it somewhere I liked it and then I saw an infinitely better style.

    I am happy with it now though

    I can't imagine investing in a phone like this and not being able to spend hours customizing it though

    Steam Profile - Variable114 | WiiU - Variable | 3DS - 3866-8105-7478
    Sig%20-%20Reggie%20Watts.png
  • nexuscrawlernexuscrawler Registered User regular
    edited September 2010
    I'm finding desktop visualizer very tedious

This discussion has been closed.