As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

What Are the Best U.S. States to Live and Work in Now?

Hexmage-PAHexmage-PA Registered User regular
edited May 2011 in Debate and/or Discourse
I graduated college a week ago, and I'm in the process of applying for jobs. I initially planned to stay in my home state, Georgia, but as of late I've been entertaining the idea of moving out of state. With that in mind, I'd like to ask all of you to voice your opinion regarding which state is the best one to live and work in.

I myself acquired a Bachelors degree in Sociology, but I'm sure other forumers here with differing work experience and education are curious as to which states are thriving. In the interests of making this a proper Debate and Discourse thread, I invite anyone specializing in different work fields to ask what locations are best for people of their desired profession.

Hexmage-PA on

• Options
    IncenjucarIncenjucar VChatter Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited May 2011
    You're going to want to do searches for jobs in your field in various areas. In general, you should probably look for the major urban areas, ideally near a port, as they tend to have a damned lot of trade to keep them going through bad times.

For Washington, you can get a rough idea of some of the jobs by using this: https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/worksource/

Washington seems to be doing fairly well despite everything, at least Seattle. There are a lot of shops closing, but there are also a bunch of developments underway in those same areas.

California is a pretty scary place these days, so while it has some damned interesting cities, it may be a rough place to start.

Incenjucar on
  • Options
    dojangodojango Registered User regular
    edited May 2011