Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

The Witcher 2: PATCH 1.2 OUT NOW - plus a hairstyling dlc

1343537394063

Posts

  • Fizban140Fizban140 Registered User, __BANNED USERS
    edited May 2011
    How do you use mutagens? I can't find any info in game.

    533570-1.png
  • DeaderinredDeaderinred Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    woo, after a reinstall the patch works fine and all dlcs installed and save games working perfectly. 8-)

  • DeaderinredDeaderinred Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Fizban140 wrote: »
    How do you use mutagens? I can't find any info in game.

    its in the manual, it was also a tooltip the first time you pick one up and should be in the journal.

    look for small circles on the character screen, you had add them in there, there is only a few though for the higher tree.

  • MongerMonger Hella Fuckin Smokey Dallas, TXRegistered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Fizban140 wrote: »
    How do you use mutagens? I can't find any info in game.
    On the skill tree, there's a few skills that will have empty slots on them after you buy them. When you mouseover, next to the button to purchase the skill is a button that says mutate, which is hotkeyed to the enter key. Either click that button or hit enter to bring up the list of mutagens in your inventory that you can apply there. Once you put a mutagen in, it's there forever and can't be replaced.

    There's a list of skills that can be mutated in that link I just posted.

  • ZxerolZxerol The fullest, most luscious beard. Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    I'm not really a big fan of the numerous references to modern science and culture, in fact they really shit up the immersion for me, but otherwise the writing is quite good.

    Probably can blame Sapkowski for that.

    Personally, I didn't mind it. It's rather nice that when some weird shit happens in a fantasy setting, the default answer isn't necessarily that a magic man done it.

    edit: also, this must be the fastest time DRM has been patched out from release date ever. I love how these fellas work, I really do.

  • Fizban140Fizban140 Registered User, __BANNED USERS
    edited May 2011
    Wow nevermind, thought it would be different.

    533570-1.png
  • HozHoz Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Just got past the courtyard in the monastery on Insanity.

    It's so different knowing if you only have one death. Your #1 priority is always survival. You don't give a shit about saving potions/traps, you just use what you got when you can because it's better to waste a trap than to die. Thankfully you get restocked in the prologue at each section.

  • BlackDoveBlackDove Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Fizban140 wrote: »
    Ugh so I am at the end of chap 1 I think
    Spoiler:

    Can somebody else link it this time?

    Please?

    I'm getting fucking tired.

  • tehkensaitehkensai Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Yeah, its a pain at first.
    Fizban140 wrote: »
    Ugh so I am at the end of chap 1 I think
    Spoiler:
    Spoiler:

    jAhPU.jpg
  • Beren39Beren39 Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    subedii wrote: »
    Sonork wrote: »
    Goddamnit steam.. really 9 GB patch? really?

    reeeally?

    Is that overwriting stuff or is the game now going to take up 22gigs of space?

    Seriously?

    Man I just downloaded the patch from GOG.com. It came in at 9 MB.

    Rather then patching "out" the target files the Steam version is having users redownload a major modified game file that clocks in at 9 GB. Don't interrupt the installation whatever you do as it is actually reinstalling a portion of the game.

    Go, Go, EXCALIBUR! - Trent Varsity Swim Team 2009, better watch out for me Phelps!
    camo_sig.png
  • ZxerolZxerol The fullest, most luscious beard. Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Steam also never uses compression for distribution, but the whole data as-is (17 gb for Steam download versus 9 for gog.com). Good for instant gratification as soon as your game downloads, but fucking hell for people with shitty bandwidth. And good luck if you have your games to automatically update (which is default), because it won't tell you it just deleted the outdated file and is now pulling nine freaking gigabytes. Being able to play the game while it downloads an update for it is a no-no obviously.

    I like Steam a lot but a lot of the the ways the client does its business is mind-boggling stupid -- most of it regarding to downloading stuff.

    Monday Night Combat on Steam used to download the entire packfiles when it patches resulting in 3 gb patches each update, and the devs eventually had to write a custom bit-patcher themselves because Steam has no such thing.

  • BrilliantInsanityBrilliantInsanity Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Zxerol wrote: »
    I'm not really a big fan of the numerous references to modern science and culture, in fact they really shit up the immersion for me, but otherwise the writing is quite good.

    Probably can blame Sapkowski for that.

    Personally, I didn't mind it. It's rather nice that when some weird shit happens in a fantasy setting, the default answer isn't necessarily that a magic man done it.

    edit: also, this must be the fastest time DRM has been patched out from release date ever. I love how these fellas work, I really do.

    Yes you can "blame" him for that as it is a part of the novels/short stories. So for anyone complaining about it breaking immersion, understand it is just as much a part of the setting as magic and everything else. Accept that this world is a mixture of modern science and old school fantasy and keep on trucking.

    steam_sig.png

    Sixty -40- on Origin for some ME3 goodness.
    http://steamcommunity.com/id/brilliantinsanity/
  • Beren39Beren39 Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    If you're on any kind of bandwidth cap it's definitely an issue. There's really no good reason for it.

    Go, Go, EXCALIBUR! - Trent Varsity Swim Team 2009, better watch out for me Phelps!
    camo_sig.png
  • The SnertThe Snert Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    So I patched the game and now there seems to be issues with my controller (yes im using the 360 controller). I can't seem to scroll through journal entries with the right stick, and more importantly, I dont see the cursor in the quick menu (to meditate, select signs, etc). Kinda sucks. Google isnt showing me anything. Has anyone encountered this and have any thoughts?

  • BlackDoveBlackDove Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Beren39 wrote: »
    If you're on any kind of bandwidth cap it's definitely an issue. There's really no good reason for it.

    Steam is partly a DRM scheme.

    I'm sure any significant changes there require a "reinstall", or a full file wipe and replacement, depending on the severity of the changes in the codebase, which seem to be comprehensive with TW2.

    You get what you sign up for.
    The Snert wrote: »
    So I patched the game and now there seems to be issues with my controller (yes im using the 360 controller). I can't seem to scroll through journal entries with the right stick, and more importantly, I dont see the cursor in the quick menu (to meditate, select signs, etc). Kinda sucks. Google isnt showing me anything. Has anyone encountered this and have any thoughts?

    I haven't encountered it, but since you asked for thoughts, I will give mine to you.

    Use a mouse and keyboard.

    I also apologize because I know that is something you did not want to hear.

  • JepheryJephery Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Maxed Quen with maxed sign intensity and 6 Vigor is kind of broken. On hard I can just smash LMB and refresh Quen once in awhile to win anything.

    I bet I could just stand still and have everything kill themselves.

    }
    "Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fightin so it don't count. If we runs for it we don't die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!".
  • finnithfinnith Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Jesus I am bad at this game. I got ambushed by nekkers near the manor in Chapter 1 and was down to almost no health in only a few seconds.

    Also, I think I've died multiple times in every encounter with more than 2 enemies.

  • DogEightDogEight Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Jephery wrote: »
    Maxed Quen with maxed sign intensity and 6 Vigor is kind of broken. On hard I can just smash LMB and refresh Quen once in awhile to win anything.

    I bet I could just stand still and have everything kill themselves.
    Totally agree. Unless I'm using it to avoid dragon fire or knockdown spam/stunlocking, I feel guilty using it. I know some people appreciate how amazingly helpful it is, so I'd love to see a mod tone it down a bit. Maybe make it take a vigor bar for each hit it takes or still stagger Geralt despite blocking the damage.

  • BlackDoveBlackDove Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Jephery wrote: »
    Maxed Quen with maxed sign intensity and 6 Vigor is kind of broken. On hard I can just smash LMB and refresh Quen once in awhile to win anything.

    I bet I could just stand still and have everything kill themselves.

    Try Quen with 7 vigor.

  • BrilliantInsanityBrilliantInsanity Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    BlackDove wrote: »
    Jephery wrote: »
    Maxed Quen with maxed sign intensity and 6 Vigor is kind of broken. On hard I can just smash LMB and refresh Quen once in awhile to win anything.

    I bet I could just stand still and have everything kill themselves.

    Try Quen with 7 vigor.

    What talent/whatever do you have to take to get 7 vigor? I only see six. :F

    steam_sig.png

    Sixty -40- on Origin for some ME3 goodness.
    http://steamcommunity.com/id/brilliantinsanity/
  • JepheryJephery Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    He probably means the +1 vigor potion.

    }
    "Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fightin so it don't count. If we runs for it we don't die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!".
  • BlackDoveBlackDove Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Nope. One vigor in the "Witcher" path north.

    One vigor in the Sword path west (after the distance-dodge thing).

    The rest on the magic path.

  • FoefallerFoefaller Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    The penultimate armor (the one you use to make the best armor in-game) also grants an extra vigor point.

    steam_sig.png
  • ZekZek Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    So what's the best way to get caught up on the plot before getting started on this one if I never played the first game?

  • JepheryJephery Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    If you want you could probably watch all of the cutscenes from the first one on YouTube or watch a Lets Play of it.

    Actually, someone did a lets play of the first on this forum if you can find it.

    Reading a wiki could work too.

    }
    "Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fightin so it don't count. If we runs for it we don't die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!".
  • HardtargetHardtarget Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    yay, the Direct2Drive patch was only a few megs.

    done and done.

    camo_sig2.png
  • DerrickDerrick Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Foefaller wrote: »
    The penultimate armor (the one you use to make the best armor in-game) also grants an extra vigor point.

    Eh, that's actually the best armor if you're a heavy sign user, imo. The upgrade is actually a bit of a downgrade.

    "The welfare of each of us is dependent fundamentally upon the welfare of all of us."
    Spoiler:
    -Theodore Roosevelt
  • HardtargetHardtarget Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    BlackDove wrote: »
    The DLC quest was free for everyone. The only thing you get with some different versions of the game are outfits and items in-game which aren't that consequential to the gameplay.

    Also, everyone gets the other DLC free now: http://www.en.thewitcher.com/community/entry/34/

    Hurrah!
    wait wait wait wait

    what?

    edit - well ok, I fired off 6 e-mails and got 6 DLC downloads, totalled about 9 megs.

    camo_sig2.png
  • curly haired boycurly haired boy Your Friendly Neighborhood Torgue Dealer Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Hardtarget wrote: »
    BlackDove wrote: »
    The DLC quest was free for everyone. The only thing you get with some different versions of the game are outfits and items in-game which aren't that consequential to the gameplay.

    Also, everyone gets the other DLC free now: http://www.en.thewitcher.com/community/entry/34/

    Hurrah!
    wait wait wait wait

    what?

    edit - well ok, I fired off 6 e-mails and got 6 DLC downloads, totalled about 9 megs.

    this is awesome, gonna install when i get home. :D

    so glad i brought my netbook, downloading on hotel wifi

    RxI0N.png
    Registered just for the Mass Effect threads | Steam: click ^^^ | Origin: curlyhairedboy | blog
  • ZxerolZxerol The fullest, most luscious beard. Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    So because of server issues and people not being able to download some preorder DLC, you're going to straight-up give them away? Instead of charging like $1.99 for them?

    These clowns aren't going anywhere with this little league shit.

  • YougottawannaYougottawanna Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    But the Vran armor has one crucial advantage: it looks cooler.

  • Alucard6986Alucard6986 Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    So, inventory management, how do I do it? Im always full and I don't know what to sell, and there is no stash, no? Should I just sell literally anything that isn't part of a recipe I'm currently trying to make?

    PSN: Ubeltanzer Bungie.net: ubel
  • WolfprintWolfprint Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    So, inventory management, how do I do it? Im always full and I don't know what to sell, and there is no stash, no? Should I just sell literally anything that isn't part of a recipe I'm currently trying to make?

    I sell any weapons and armour I don't foresee myself using. I also am trying to use as many of the heavier reagents ("Drowner brains I am looking at you") as I can, and trying to spam my daggers, bombs and potions as much as possible.

    Even then the lowest I have gotten to is around 260lbs. Where is all this weight coming from?!?

    I know I sound like I'm on the diet thread instead.

  • DerrickDerrick Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    So, inventory management, how do I do it? Im always full and I don't know what to sell, and there is no stash, no? Should I just sell literally anything that isn't part of a recipe I'm currently trying to make?

    There are a lot of items that show up only in the "see all" option in your inventory because they're junk. Rings and such that you pick up are simply meant to be sold that way. You can stack up a surprising amount of weight with just junk.

    Personally after doing a full playthrough I don't feel playing the inventory game was worthwhile, so I modded out item weight.

    "The welfare of each of us is dependent fundamentally upon the welfare of all of us."
    Spoiler:
    -Theodore Roosevelt
  • DetharinDetharin Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    On the subject of "where is all this weight coming from!!?!" go through your inventory with the all option selected and look for heavy junk items. Enemies will drop things that have weight but do not fit into any category aside from all. i think i dropped 20 pounds first time i did that.

    If I was kidnapped, woke up in a lab, told they were going to replace my vocal cords with those of Tony Jay, and lock me in a sound booth until the day I die I would look those bastards right in the eye and say "Alright you sons of bitches lets do this. This one is for the children."
  • AumniAumni Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Generally I only kept 10 of each ingredient. I sold 90% of the mutagens I found. Only kept the trophy I was wearing at the time. Most of the weight was from ore/Timber/leather, you generally don't need more then 10 of either of those at any one time.

    http://steamcommunity.com/id/aumni/ Battlenet: Aumni#1978 GW2: Aumni.1425
  • DashuiDashui Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    I beat it! That was great, but I don't know exactly which save I'll want to import into The Witcher 3. It should be obvious of the two, but...
    Spoiler:
    Now I'll have to replay it again and go down the Roche path.

    Xbox Live, PSN & Origin: Vacorsis

    steam_sig.png
  • WolfprintWolfprint Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    I don't think I am carrying so much junk. Most of the weight should be coming from ore and timber.

    Can someone give me a spoilered list of items (and how many) I should be keeping in Chapter 3. I have heard that some crafting requires special reagents, and I don't want to have to backtrack/mod stuff in.

  • Fizban140Fizban140 Registered User, __BANNED USERS
    edited May 2011
    Just download the weightless mod, infinite carry room the way it should be.

    533570-1.png
  • DetharinDetharin Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    You can pretty much ignore timber, leather, and cloth as if you ever need it even in chapter 3 there is a supply nearby. Ore I think i needed 14 for the last sword, but again there was a bit laying around so i could make due carrying less. The only things you really need to hold onto are the Queen Pheromones from chapter 1, Bulver brain, nekker warrior blood, and either a harpy egg or a rotfiend tongue.

    If I was kidnapped, woke up in a lab, told they were going to replace my vocal cords with those of Tony Jay, and lock me in a sound booth until the day I die I would look those bastards right in the eye and say "Alright you sons of bitches lets do this. This one is for the children."
Sign In or Register to comment.