As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

How do I find a job?

AistanAistan Tiny BatRegistered User regular
edited July 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
So, i'm 27 years old and i've never had a permanent, full-time job. I've had quite a few jobs through temp agencies since I graduated from college, but since none of them ever had a chance of leading to an employment opportunity with the contracting company I feel like I really need to find something stable now. My most recent contract ended about a month ago, and since the head of the department seemed to have a personal issue with me I doubt i'll be called back when they start hiring people on again.

This leaves me scouring the job listings, but for most Seattle-area ones within 60 miles of my current location there are 0 entry level openings. I have a degree in Environmental Planning and Policy, but all jobs I see in that field require several years of experience.

I'm pretty much at my wit's end here. I would prefer to stay in this area, since moving to another location in the hopes that I find a job after I get there seems like a bad idea.

Any tips?

Here's my resume, just in case anyone wants to point out anything mind-blowingly terrible about it.
Name, address, contact info, etc went here.

EDUCATION:
Western Washington University
Dec 2006: B.A. in Environmental Planning and Policy

Related project:
Study Abroad Project for Planning Majors Spring 2006
- Researched the feasibility of redeveloping the town of Old Farsa, Greece, composed of 100 households, which had been destroyed in a 1953 earthquake.
- Began mapping of the old town site to begin the design process for rebuilding.
- Presented hour-long final report to Farsa community, including a speech to over 50 people.

TECHNICAL SKILLS: