As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Asking for a Raise (Update 3/19)

AskingForRaiseAskingForRaise Registered User regular
edited March 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
This is an alt. I'm young and inexperienced in office politics, and would appreciate advice.

I've been working at my company for 18 months as an analyst. My starting salary was $X. After a positive performance review six months ago I was given a 12% bonus and a 3% cost-of-living pay increase.

At times my bosses have told me I'm well regarded, a "rising star" at the company and a "senior analyst." I've always performed well, come in early and stayed late. I've learned new skillsets and increased my responsibilities, especially in the last six months since my performance review. I think I'm worth a raise.

In addition, my company has had difficulties hiring and retaining talent. We're a small company (~20 people). Since my performance review six months ago we've fired three people and three highly valued team members have left of their own choosing. Our prospective hires haven't looked promising. Our most recent new analyst was given a starting salary of $1.13X (10% more than I currently earn). She's older and has an MA, but I honestly believe I'm worth more to the company than her.

I'm going to ask for a 15% raise. I think I have a strong case, but I have questions:
  • I technically shouldn't know what this new hire is earning, but we're a small company and I overheard the offer. I know I'm supposed to argue my case, and not why I'm worth more than someone else, so I'm leaning towards not bringing up the new hire altogether. Sound right? However, I am honestly annoyed the new hire is earning more than me.