As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Help Me I'm New To Comics

• Robos A Go GoRobos A Go Go Registered User regular
    Alright, in that case he might like Jeff Smith's Bone as well. It's a fantasy story with some cartoonish elements, but it's also fairly intricate and engrossing. There perhaps a couple of scary scenes, but nothing that'll traumatize a fairly mature 8 year old.

• Centipede DamascusCentipede Damascus Registered User regular
    I think Marvel Adventures would be righ up his alley. It also couldn't hurt to pick up some classic comics, like some Jack Kirby Fantastic Four. I read the heck out of those when I was eight.

Jeff Smith's Bone is also pretty great all-ages stuff.

• HounHoun Registered User regular
    Actually, yeah, the Marvel Adventures is looking pretty good. Anyone have any personal experience with them? I'm sorta leaning toward Avengers, but that may just be movie anticipation.

• AntimatterAntimatter Devo Was Right Gates of SteelRegistered User regular
    edited December 2011
    Marvel Adventures Spider-Man is pretty dang good

thirding Bone

Antimatter on
  • WiseManTobesWiseManTobes Registered User regular
    edited December 2011
    Marvel Adventures doesn't dumb it down reading-wise, not sure on the others.

And Marvel Adventures is really fun, ( half of this board is addicted to it, some as our break from dark/gritty)

Also, thought about grabbing him a Calvin and Hobbes book? I loved those when I was a kid.

edit: holy smokes look at all the marvel adventures chime in as I was typing this post!

WiseManTobes on
    Steam! Battlenet:Wisemantobes#1508
  • herojoeherojoe IndianapolisRegistered User regular
    Calvin and Hobbes is a masterpiece.

steam_sig-400.png