As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Ubuntu WiFi Issues

GotrGotr Ms.St Louis, MORegistered User regular
edited July 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Here's my dilemma: I am new to Ubuntu, and Linux in general. My computer runs on a x86 architecture. Most of the other hardware works properly, but there's one problem:

I have a D-Link DWL-520 WiFi card. It's no longer supported by D-Link, but it is supported by Ndiswrapper. So I went through the steps of downloading Ndiswrapper and installing it. The installation went smoothly. Next thing I did was tried to run the GUI application "Windows Wireless Drivers", which is part of Ndiswrapper.

(I did the following many, many times, but this is the account of my last attempt)

I ran lscpci in Terminal, and it didn't detect my WiFi card, but it did detect a Netprism device, which is the name of the driver on the CD that came with the card. So I assumed (correctly, I think) that Netprism made the device and D-Link sold it. So I moved the drivers from the disk to ~/Drivers (a directory I created) and ran "WWD", and it said that the drivers were installed but that the hardware wasn't installed. I ran sudo rmdir /etc/ndiswrapper/netprism after clearing out the directory, and decided to take a different route.

In Terminal I ran sudo ndiswrapper -i ~/drivers/NETPRISM.inf and checked Ndiswrapper's directory, which seemed to be working. then I did this (first line input, following output):
ndiswrapper -l
netprism:driver installed
     hardware present (pci2_prism alternate driver)
or at leat very close to that, I'm paraphrasing as I'm not going to reboot three times just to get an exact quote if it's not neccesary. Great, right? Not really. I run
sudo depmod -a
sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
tail /var/log/messages