As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Burn your books! [eReaders] are here!

• FiskavFiskav Registered User regular
    edited December 2015

Fiskav on
    steam_sig.png
  • CantidoCantido Registered User regular
    Fiskav wrote:
    Sorry to just jump in randomly, but I'd like some buying advice. A big reason I don't read much is carrying around books is a pain, so I'm pretty close to just ordering a Kindle now that they're so cheap. But there are some other options, and one of the main genres I read is books on computer programming (I am a web developer). These tend to be thick and cumbersome and have large diagrams and code examples. Are these basically pointless on Kindle/Nook? Should I just save for an iPad? Can you read PDF's on an e-reader at all?

I also have a moderate collection of "old-fashioned" books. Will I basically have to re-buy any I want on my electric book?

Also, Kindle or Nook?

You can read PDFs, depending on the size.

Really, it boils down to two choices.

Are you prepared to buy an iPad (more expensive option), read on an LCD screen (it hurts to read for a long period of time)?

Or would you prefer to buy a Kindle (fairly inexpensive), smaller screen (or the Kindle DX - is this even still out anymore?), with e-Ink (less eye-strain)?

Read reviews carefully. I got a Kindle because this is the first time a course has had textbooks available cheaper on Kindle, two no less. Both books are good but one of them reviewed poorly because it was not formatted nicely for Kindle. My teacher's PDFs come out very nicely on Kindle as well, so no more printing for me.

3DS Friendcode 5413-1311-3767
  • ArcSynArcSyn Registered User regular