As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

i have an infection in my butt, a game design infection

• AntimatterAntimatter Devo Was Right Gates of SteelRegistered User regular

game design =/= programming

though you need to know how to speak programmer

yeah

• MeldingMelding Registered User regular
    being fast at coding isn't really a skill you need to have. so long as you can get some kind of prototype together you can get people interested. they might even want to help.

right now my coding ability is at roughly just enough to be dangerous, but not enough to get anything done. but boy am i good at logicing programs out.

• BallmanBallman Registered User regular
    Hey! Hey. I want to make games. I have an engineering degree but my coding background is like 75% self-taught. I shouldn't be allowed to do an art. What's a good tool/programming environment to get started with making games?

• OrikaeshigitaeOrikaeshigitae Registered User, ClubPA regular
    Ballman wrote: »
    Hey! Hey. I want to make games. I have an engineering degree but my coding background is like 75% self-taught. I shouldn't be allowed to do an art. What's a good tool/programming environment to get started with making games?

http://inform7.com/

• FishmanFishman Put your goddamned hand in the goddamned Box of Pain. Registered User regular
    Yes. Design =/= programming. I wasn't very clear about that in my post, but I get to be one of those people for whom thought can become action, so I switch from one to the other when I get into a creating groove. The two are entwined for me.

X-Com LP Thread I, II, III, IV, V
    That's unbelievably cool. Your new name is cool guy. Let's have sex.