As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Glasses! I am new to eyewear. Help.

spookymuffinspookymuffin ( ° ʖ ° )Puyallup WA Registered User regular
edited April 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
So after years of video games and internetting, I have damaged my eyes to the point where I need corrective lenses. Shopping around in stores and online for glasses reveals this might be a very costly new aspect of my life. Onine seems cheaper, but of course, lacks the ability to try them on and make sure they fit my face. I've been screwing around on a few sites but not actually pulled the trigger and ordered a pair. Share with me your tips and suggestions, as well as any praise or horror stories for online ordering.

PSN: MegaSpooky // 3DS: 3797-6276-7138
Wii U NNID: MegaSpooky
spookymuffin on

• Options
    AresProphetAresProphet Registered User regular
    Vision insurance is cheap and if you need them for daily use it will pay for itself. If you can get it, do so. A set of contacts and new lenses every year gets real cheap with insurance, some plans will give you a good chunk off frames too.

Ask your optometrist if you can get contact lenses. They are awesome, but they usually require more effort and planning than glasses.

I would not order frames online, having frames that fit comfortably is a thousand times more important than finding the ones that look just a little bit cooler. You are going to wear these every day, you want to be able to forget you're even wearing them. Especially if you've never worn glasses before you want light frames with smaller lenses so they aren't too thick. I've tried to put up with frames I didn't think fit perfectly because I thought they looked cooler, and a few weeks later took them back and got different ones.