As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Job sucks, need new one. No idea what to look for.

KharnastusKharnastus Registered User regular
edited May 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
So I work at a hotel doing bellman/valet/shuttle driver. I work overnight 11-7. I am sick of the idiot management and drunk assholes. more so the management. I have waited tables, customer service etc. I have a bachelors of arts degree. Apart from my poor choice of degree choice, looking for some suggestions of what to do with my experience. I don't want to work nights anymore, and would prefer to get out of the hotel industry. Any suggestions for my wide variety of experience and skills?

Kharnastus on

• Options
    Jimmy KingJimmy King Registered User regular
    A better question would be what do you think you might enjoy, or at least be able to tolerate, doing? Then look at what you need to be able to do that. What is your B.A. in and did you enjoy that stuff? Perhaps that could direct you towards a better job.

• Options
    Lord PalingtonLord Palington he.him.his History-loving pal!Registered User regular
    If you can stomach $10-12 an hour with little to no benefits at first, you can always try and get with a temp company doing office work. It's pretty dull 8-5 stuff, but you get weekends off and, and if you're any good chances are a good company will hire you on when possible.

If you like evening/weekend shifts and a bit more physicality in your job, you can look for valet companies in the area. All the money is in tips, but you get a great work out, and sometimes you even get to drive awesome vehicles for about two minutes.

Don't forget usajobs.gov

SrUxdlb.jpg
  • Options
    GodfatherGodfather Registered User regular