As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Permanent Retainer

saltinesssaltiness Registered User regular
edited August 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Here's another dental question:

I had braces when I was a freshman in high school. I only had them for about 9 months and got them out but when they took them out they put a permanent retainer on the back of my bottom front teeth. I didn't even ask about it then, I guess I just wasn't thinking very far ahead at that time in my life but apparently I'm supposed to have this thing in my mouth forever. It bothered me at first but 9 years or so later I'm 23 and the wire part of the retainer just snapped as I was eating a bagel. I've already made an appointment with the dentist to get it fixed and whatnot so that's not a problem but I'm wondering if there's anyone else here with one of these who's had more experience with them. Is it a common thing for these to break and need to be repaired? Am I going to be checking in to the dentist every decade or so for rebuild?

XBL: heavenkils
saltiness on

• Options
    SevorakSevorak Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    I have the same thing on my bottom teeth and haven't had any problems with it except for it being a pain in the ass to clean around. I'm a year younger than you though, so I may have problems with it yet. Last time I saw my dentist I seem to remember them mentioning that your teeth mostly stop shifting around 25 and I could get the thing removed around then. You might want to talk to your dentist about it when you go to get it repaired.

Sevorak on
    steam_sig.png 3DS: 0748-2282-4229
  • Options
    unilateralunilateral Registered User regular
    edited August 2007