As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Electrical wiring in an old house: non-grounded outlets

bigtimeslackerbigtimeslacker Registered User regular
edited September 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I have limited knowledge when it comes to electrical wiring in a house. I can install new plugs and lightswitches, light fixtures, ceiling fans without killing myself. I learned all of this in a newer house where everything was grounded. I recently bought an older house (built in 1920) and my bedroom doesn't have any grounded outlets. The kitchen and bathroom do have 3-prong outlets that I've tested and they show up with a good ground connection.

In my bedroom, I could just swap in a 3-prong outlet and only connect the two wires, but since I will be plugging in my computer, lcd tv, stereo, etc...I don't really want to do that. I noticed some wires clamped to some pipes in the basement. I didn't trace them back to anything yet, but is there a chance this is how some of the plugs in my house are grounded? Is this a good way to ground an outlet?

TL;DR: How can I wire a ground for an electrical outlet in my old house?

Bonus question: Are surge protectors useless when plugged into a non-grounded outlet?

pa_sig.jpg
bigtimeslacker on

• InvisibleInvisible Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Bonus Question: From what I was told by an electrician, yes they are.

It's possible to ground an outlet, but there are some variables to it and it's really something better left to professionals since new wire may need to be laid.

And yes, you can ground an outlet to a metal pipe, but depending on your area, it may be against building codes (and unsafe if you don't know what you're doing).

Invisible on
  • RuckusRuckus Registered User regular
    edited September 2007