As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Doodmann Doodles and Maybe Makes Stuff?

DoodmannDoodmann Registered User regular
edited February 2017 in Artist's Corner
I'm going to make this OP into kind of a portfolio thing, but I wanted a thread for questions on my doodles and WIPS.

I'm a Graphic Designer so I would love to talk to people on here about the nuts and bolts of the industry. Lately I've been doing a lot of clothing industry color correction and I've started using just a curves layer over a mid-tone selection mask; it not the norm in my experience and I wonder why since it keeps more detail in tact. My day job is a lot of stuff that it technically interesting but boring to show, since ideally no one knows I did it.

Mostly would like to do more physical illustration/art, but it's definitely not my strong suite.

Here is something I recently finished (a rarity!)

M67csra.jpg

Whippy wrote: »
nope nope nope nope abort abort talk about anime
I like to ART
Doodmann on

• DoodmannDoodmann Registered User regular
    edited February 2017
    I've been putting this together recently and I'm ready to ink but I'm not sure how I should shade it. I would like to do a Mike Migonla kind of thing but that might be too extreme, especially on the cartoon characters.

DhFc2fll.jpg

Doodmann on
    I like to ART
  • tapeslingertapeslinger Space Unicorn Slush Ranger Social Justice Rebel ScumRegistered User regular
    Well, one of the things about Mignola, style wise, is that he achieves visual intricacies through relatively simple forms and by using really good balance of shadows, which I think is definitely possible with the composition you have so far!

I couldn't muster the gumption to start inking that thing so started on one of the other projects I've been putting off.