As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Website Development

SlapnutsSlapnuts Registered User regular
edited May 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I've been managing Websites for a major media company for almost two years. The sites have their own CMS so I am not required to do any sort of coding or programming. Everything I need to do is based in HTML. I want to be able to code and am very interested in Web development. I'd like to start my own Website development company someday.

The problem lies in the fact that I didn't go to college to do what I'm doing. I got a degree in Mass Communication and work for a Television Station. I have good editorial news judgement and a fundamental understanding of how our viewers think and what they'd like to see on the Website and how to create that content. The CMS is simple, so I'm able to do what I need to do within the framework but have to outsource most of the new media projects to other people within the company.

I want to be able to create flash/java/other interactives on my own. And I'd like to be able to one day take the skills to my own Website design business.

What do I need to do? Go back to school and get another degree in Web design? Or can I buy tutorial books and learn these skills on my own? I'm thinking I'd probably need to go back to school, but that isn't in the cards at the moment. I'd have to wait at least 2 or 3 years until my fiancee finishes her degree. I'd like to at least start developing my skills right now. I, at the very least, have a site I can test some of my projects out on.

So, in conclusion, what programs/languages are required to run new media sites? And will I have to go back to school to learn them? If not, what books can I go get tomorrow to start learning?