As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Halfway through fan replacement: What do I do now? (photos)

MorninglordMorninglord I'm tired of being Batman,so today I'll be Owl.Registered User regular
Need help if anybody knows. I'm a complete noob at this sort of thing. I can't find any information on exactly what to do right here at the moment.

Basically the motherboard chipset fan on my gf's A8n-sli mobo started failing and asus sent us a new one.

So I took the old one off and this is a photo of what I found (photo size are 250k which is why they are links):

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n208/morninglord21/IMG_5260.jpg

As you can see there's a little clear sticky plasticy thing that covers the circuit board and not the chip and the old thermal stuff is all over the place underneath it.

This is on the underside of the old fan/heatsink:

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n208/morninglord21/IMG_5259.jpg

It's some kind of black plastic cover, I assume the clear plastic sticky thing helped hold it in place. It wont come off, I'll have to carefully peel it off with quite a bit of force.

Now this is fine right, just take that black plastic cover off, pop it on the new fan? The clear plastic is still a bit stick I guess. The trouble is the new fan doesn't have a replacement sticky thing:

This is the new fan:

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n208/morninglord21/IMG_5262.jpg

So....how safely can I clean all that white gunk off. Can I just take off that black cover, take off the clear plastic sticky cover, clean the whole chip with some rubbing alcohol, then put the black and clear cover back on and stick on the new fan?