As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Is a withdrawal worse than a D?

ArtonosArtonos Registered User regular
edited October 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
All right I'm in stats in college. Well its tough, since I'm not very good at math. Right now I have a D (64.4% above 60% is a D) and I don't know if I can get it up in the last half of the semester. Is a D on my transcript worse than a W? Tommorow is the last day to drop a class.

I wasn't really considering dropping it until today I had a test and did not do too well on it. There were 0 people who got done with the test in the time that he gave us. So, the proffesor is letting everyone pick up where they left off today on monday. I'm going to talk to the professor tommorow and ask him whether he thinks that it is likely that I can get my grade up. Right now it is a distinct possibility that I could get an F.

I really don't have anyone to ask here. I tried my advisor, but she really didn't help at all.

Artonos on

• Options
    Zombie NirvanaZombie Nirvana Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    I think you'd be better off dropping the class, assuming it isn't one of those that gets curved where 64% is actually an A because the course is tremendously difficult.

Zombie Nirvana on
  • Options
    Dark MoonDark Moon Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    A bunch of Ws on your transcript looks suspicious, but only one or two isn't the end of the world and is certainly better than a D, which will not only look bad but damage your GPA. I'd say definitely consider withdrawing from the course if your mark is already this poor and is likely to stay the same/go down.

Dark Moon on
    3072973561_de17a80845_o.jpg
  • Options
    Matt_SMatt_S Registered User regular
    edited October 2008