As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Recording Guitar

SpackleSpackle Registered User regular
edited February 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Ok here's my scenario:
Want to record my guitar playing so I can play over them and pretend to be cool. Just bedroom use, no live playing.

Dilemma:
My desktop PC is shitty and I don't plan on getting a new one for a long time since my laptop does everything I need (Dell Inspirion 9300).

Options:
I'm new to this, but i've heard great things about the Digitech JamMan which is basically a pedal that you can use to sample yourself then loop it. I think it also has a USB interface to upload riffs onto my comp. Cool!

Cept it's $300 and I hear there are much cheaper solutions to do the same thing using something like a TasCam US-122:
http://www.tascam.com/Products/US-122.html which is $100 cheaper and possibly more effective.

Basically, does anyone have JamMan-eqsue experience (I know Boss has the RC-20XL or something like that) or experience with an interface box like the link above? Which would you go with? Firsthand experience NOT from a guitarcenter employee is really what I'm looking for :)

Taco Bell does win the franchise war according to the tome of knowledge that is Demolition Man. However, I've watched Demolition Man more then a few times and never once did I see WoW. In conclusion Taco Bell has more lasting power then WoW.
D&D Metal Thread: HERE
Spackle on

• DaySleeperDaySleeper regular
    edited February 2007
    Your laptop should be good enough to run Audacity. You'd be able to record stuff like basic chord progressions and so forth to play back while you solo over them, which is what I understand your plan to be from your post.

DaySleeper on
    magnum%20pi%20ferrari.jpeg