As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

PC gaming as its own worst enemy

Nova_CNova_C I have the needThe need for speedRegistered User regular
edited February 2007 in Games and Technology
I remember a thread recently that talked about the depression in pc gaming, but I couldn't find it. What I remember was that console gaming was being blamed for the reduction in the linked article, but I'm not so sure this is true.

In my own case, having a single Nintendo 64, then adding a Playstation, the Gameboy Color, then PS2, then Gamecube didn't affect the rate at which I purchased PC games in the least. I would buy at least one every month, usually two or three.

But ever since I started playing World of Warcraft, I've purchased two PC games in the past two years, not including WoW or Burning Crusade.

I think that the rise of the MMO is making the PC market shrink. People are buying fewer games because one game can last them two years before having to purchase an expansion. They also (usually) have to pay a fee to continue playing that game.

Whereas consoles are still very much like PC gaming used to be with the games that only last 10-60 hours playtime, so it's easier to sell more games.

What do you guys think? Am I an anomaly, or typical? Is the MMO making the PC market more intensely competitive and cutthroat by reducing the number of games that people play, or is it ushering in a new golden age by making games that people play for long periods of time and play with many people instead of a few days after purchase, putting it away for months and months?

Nova_C on

• DashuiDashui Registered User regular
    edited February 2007
    People who say PC gaming is dying or becoming stale needs to look at the list of games coming out in 2007.