As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

You can [MUSIC] thread any time you like But you can never leave

FlayFlay Registered User regular
edited June 2010 in Artist's Corner
AC MUSICIANS THREAD*

Here is a place for musicians to discuss creating music, and to learn how to improve. The focus will be on music creation and theory, as well as critique. If this thread manages to survive, it'll probably operate similarly to the doodle/photo threads - the first post on the 100th page makes the next thread.

Unfortunately, since I'm a guitarist, this thread will probably be biased towards playing guitars for the moment (I don't know a great deal about other instruments) so any contributions would really be appreciated.

Below I'll keep a track of useful websites for musicians that I come across, or that have been suggested.

General Resources:

Guitarist Resources:
    Knob's 'Guitar Theory for Beginners' Thread - 'An idiot's guide to getting started with theory as it relates to guitars.'
    [*]Power Tab - A site providing free tablature from popular musicians, with an easy interface. Unfortunately, this site seems to be exclusively tablature, with no option to view as regular sheet-music/scores.
    [*]Justin Guitar - Free online lessons for the beginner, as well as music theory and forums.
    [*]Power Tab - A free tablature editor, and an alternative for those who do not want to buy guitar pro.
    [*]Ultimate Guitar - A collection of tablature, driven by its community.

If you're beginning guitar or are thinking of doing so, you might like to check out this thread in Accumulated Forum Knowledge. There are also dedicated musician threads to be found in both D&D and SE++.

~~~~~~~