As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Guitar playing advice. I'm having trouble!

spacerobotspacerobot Registered User regular
edited October 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I have been playing the guitar for maybe three months now. I typically practice for maybe an hour a day, but usually less. I'm really not very good yet, and I need help rather quickly.

I was recently recruited to play the guitar for my swearing-in ceremony in the Peace Corps (I was told, not asked). Not only will there be people there, but important people, such as the Prime Minister and Governor General of the country I'm living in. Oh yeah, it's going to be televised too. soooo, can anyone offer me some advice?

I only have to play the following chords for three songs: C, F, G7, Am, and D (once). I'm able to do C, G7, and the D without a problem, but my F and Am suck. First off, I am having trouble switching between chords, and when I hit F and Am I always get lots of metallic twangy sounds.

I'm practicing as much as I can, but I'm still worried I'll suck when it comes time to play. Help!

test.jpg
spacerobot on

• Options
    SheepSheep Registered User, __BANNED USERS regular
    edited October 2009
    Accuracy first, speed second. Make sure you can finger the chords properly, and then move on to the next chord and finger it properly. Then practice on moving from chord to chord.

Emphasis on proper fingering. I'd check online for pics on how to play chords to make sure you're not getting a finger stuck somewhere.

Sheep on
  • Options
    EggyToastEggyToast Jersey CityRegistered User regular
    edited October 2009