As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Help make my D&D game awesome!

SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
edited November 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
H/A, I need some advice! I am going to start DMing for a bunch of new players to D&D this weekend, and I was wondering if anyone could help me think of ways to make it really fun for these people who have almost no idea what D&D is. Every person in the group except for me has never played before, and I've been playing for almost 15 years now.

So, the details. My first session is going to have only three people. My major concern is, what happens if nobody plays a class with healing abilities? I am considering giving them a random cleric mercenary if that happens to act as heal bot.

I'm starting them all off at level 1 with a fairly straightforward 'protect the town' adventure. I'll be rolling up their characters prior to the game and just letting them choose which ones they want. I plan on having 5-6 characters made up with each class type representing.

None of them has any dice (though I have plenty) or books, but I have a full set of books for myself. Any ideas on how not to get bogged down in the mechanics in having to look things up all the time? I'm not terribly familiar with 4th Edition rules quite yet, but from what I've read so far it looks like it's a lot more newbie friendly than 3.5

I don't have a hex grid, but I bought some of those premade dungeon tiles to use. Since I don't really have a map to draw on, what do you guys recommend for use if I need to improvise? The local game store didn't have a hex map in stock, so I'm kind of screwed on this one. Any ideas?

So, H/A, any further tips and tricks you suggest that I can do to make my friends' first D&D session more enjoyable?

Steam: Spawnbroker