As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

GPU Temperature: 110C. Approaching "melty penis" level.

DacDac Registered User regular
I only really started looking into temperature stuff because my computer started crashing after a few hours of Borderlands, and while I had always known that the black-screen crashes on games I intermittently had were a heat problem, I didn't quite realize how much of a problem it was until I installed Speedfan today.

My GPU idles at around 70-75C. Playing Borderlands it jumped to 110C. And that's before it starts doing its "fan clicking against something" audio cue that the card is really straining.

Now, I'm not an expert on computers, but 110C seems like it would be really fucking bad.

I currently run a 3.0ghz Core2 Duo processor, 2064 mb ram, with a 9800 GT 512mb graphics card. The system case is an older Cooler Master model. I only have one case fan - the one in back. This will probably need to be rectified, but I don't know where to go about putting another in. (The circular hole has this large cumbersome funnel attachment inside that would seem to preclude putting anything bulky on there. Do I scrap it?)

The system is almost always "on", though it idles with the hard disk and such turned off at night. I would assume that this is at least part of the issue: it never has a real "cooling time."

The card also hasn't been cleaned because jesus christ I've never had a card with a cover like that before and I have no idea which screws I am and (more importantly) am not supposed to remove.