As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I'd like to learn more about electronics

pirate-ardvaarkpirate-ardvaark Registered User new member
edited January 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I've been bored and decided I'd like a new hobby. After looking around online and seeing various cool things people have done, I've decided that I'd like to pick up some basic skills in electronics. Understanding schematics on a basic level, and perhaps even learning to program PICs (I work as a computer programmer anyways).

Can anybody suggest some good books and/or websites to start with? Are those "200 in 1 Electronics" kits actually instructional, or are they more meant to amuse little kids with flashing lights and loud beeps?

pirate-ardvaark on

• Options
    Lucky CynicLucky Cynic Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Everyone learns a bit differently, I like slow books that gradually introduce me into bigger concepts. These books are often pretty big, and a lot of people get turned off when they see a dictionary sized manual for computers or something. I would just head over to Barnes and Noble or Borders or some major book store that has a wide variety and just browse a few books, read a bit here and there and see which one you would rpefer to have. Alternativly, you can find a good magazine. It's sometimes hard to find a good one but you can learn a lot about lots of stuff pretty quick.

Lucky Cynic on
  • Options
    sirSolariussirSolarius Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Are you in school? Is there a community college nearby where you can take classes? That is really the best way to go.