As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Cable Switched Video Woes (Time Warner)

Sharp10rSharp10r Registered User regular
edited November 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
OK, so my Time Warner DVR KEEPS not recording my requested shows saying "Channel not available." I've swapped boxes. The cable guy came out on my new box and described a practice I now know as "Cable Switched Video." What this means if I understand it- is that channels are not sent to my box until my box requests them. What this would also mean is that if all possible "open lanes" are taken by other people, I don't get my show.
First off, this is not what I am paying for- so every time this happens I've started to call them and request a $5 credit to my account, but now I've got to figure out how to get my shows so:

If I switched to a TIVO HD DVR, and got the CableCards from Time Warner- would this fix the problem? I guess it depends on if the problem is the TW DVR not "requesting" the channel, or the hub not SENDING the channel. But I'm hoping that someone who knows more than me can illuminate my thinking on this situation (since TWC will probably not be able to do so!) Thanks!

Sharp10r on

Posts

  • DragonPupDragonPup Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    I can only speak to the cable system of the company I work for that begins with a 'C'. The digital video does not 'switch' until the taps outside the house itself. The fiber feed still has everything.

    Does this happen at certain times, or all times? Is it one channel, multiple channels? What channel number is this happening on?

    DragonPup on
    "I was there, I was there, the day Horus slew the Emperor." -Cpt Garviel Loken

    Currently painting: Slowly [flickr]
  • Sharp10rSharp10r Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    It's seemed to happen when I try to record 2 things at once (like on Thursdays and Tuesdays primetime) CBS/NBC/Fox (different combos when it happens)
    It also happens on Showtime HD (Dexter, Sunday nights) and Legend of the Seeker (Friday or Saturday can't remember) Channel numbers are in the low to mid 200s for the networks, and 340ish for ShowtimeHD.

    Sharp10r on
  • DragonPupDragonPup Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Does this only happen when you are recording, or when you are also watching live? Also, if while recording, only when recording two things at once?

    DragonPup on
    "I was there, I was there, the day Horus slew the Emperor." -Cpt Garviel Loken

    Currently painting: Slowly [flickr]
  • Captain VashCaptain Vash Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Sounds more like one of the tuners in your two tuner device is bust.

    also switched video should only apply to "on demand" style content or PPV content.

    Captain Vash on
    twitterforweb.Stuckens.1,1,500,f4f4f4,0,c4c4c4,000000.png
  • Atlus ParkerAtlus Parker Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Sounds more like one of the tuners in your two tuner device is bust.

    also switched video should only apply to "on demand" style content or PPV content.

    Not true because some companies have switched to switched video to continue to bleed life out of their systems.

    I can't speak as to the actual issue itself, but if you go with a Tivoand your cable system indeed uses SDV you're going to need to have an additional tuner box installed in addition to the cable cards in the Tivo. From what I've seen, Tivo fully supports these tuning adapters and you should have no issue with them.

    Atlus Parker on
  • Captain VashCaptain Vash Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Sounds more like one of the tuners in your two tuner device is bust.

    also switched video should only apply to "on demand" style content or PPV content.

    Not true because some companies have switched to switched video to continue to bleed life out of their systems.

    I can't speak as to the actual issue itself, but if you go with a Tivoand your cable system indeed uses SDV you're going to need to have an additional tuner box installed in addition to the cable cards in the Tivo. From what I've seen, Tivo fully supports these tuning adapters and you should have no issue with them.

    My favorite thing about switched video is that I'm an employee with a major cable system in my area, and my cable boxes are on a special employee package that includes untested new channels for the area... and a bunch of unlocked switched video channels.


    lets just say, I can watch whatever my neighbors have ordered on demand with them. it's amusing to sit down, flip channels, see a show you like, and suddenly it starts pausing and rewinding all on it's own.

    Captain Vash on
    twitterforweb.Stuckens.1,1,500,f4f4f4,0,c4c4c4,000000.png
  • Sharp10rSharp10r Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    I just lost 2 more shows today. NCIS and V. PLEASE, does anyone have any information on this? I need to know if I will experience the same issues with an HD TIVO box because it's the cable company, or if that will fix the problem.

    Sharp10r on
  • Sir CarcassSir Carcass I have been shown the end of my world Round Rock, TXRegistered User regular
    edited November 2009
    I can't really help much, but I can say that I get this occasionally (with TW) where it'll say a channel is currently unavailable. It usually happens for me with the HD channels. Sometimes rebooting the box will fix it, sometimes not.

    Sir Carcass on
  • Sharp10rSharp10r Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    update: TW lead tech for the area will be here Friday morning,...

    Sharp10r on
  • DragonPupDragonPup Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Let us know what he says on Friday.

    Also, if the issue is a bad box swapping it to a HD will help. If it is something else, it won't.

    DragonPup on
    "I was there, I was there, the day Horus slew the Emperor." -Cpt Garviel Loken

    Currently painting: Slowly [flickr]
Sign In or Register to comment.