As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Questions, Discussion, and Tutorials

• HonkHonk Honk is this poster. Registered User, __BANNED USERS regular
    edited May 2011
    I'm fairly new to Illustrator.

Is there a way to duplicate an object and change the scale by the exact same amount for each new duplicate?

I want to make a lot of circles and I want them to become gradually smaller at an exact even curve.

Honk on
    PSN: Honkalot
    edited May 2011
    Turns out that as usual one need only look for it for 30 minutes, and then finally ask, and one will find it immediately after asking.

CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+D for example.

Honk on
  • MagicToasterMagicToaster JapanRegistered User regular
    edited May 2011
    You could also use the blend feature:
    1. Draw the shape you want at its biggest, then draw it again at it's smallest size.
    2. Select both shapes.
    3. Go to Object>Blend>Make.

This should create the effect you're looking for. You might need to tweak it though:
    1. Selecting both shapes
    2. Choose Object>Blend>Blend Options
    3. In the drop down menu you can choose the specific steps you want to have or the specific distance between shapes.

When you're satisfied, click Object>Blend>Expand to turn everything into actual vector shapes.

I know it looks complicated, but its a great tool. If you change the transparency, stroke width, color or shape at either end it's gonna affect the transition elements in between which can give you some pretty cool results.

Good luck with Illustrator!

MagicToaster on
    edited May 2011
    That sounds hella useful for what I'm trying!

Thanks!

Honk on
  • JeckalHydeJeckalHyde Lord Awesome New ZealandRegistered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Man ive totally forgotten how to use Maya.