As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Got 360 Elite for X-mas, what do I need to hook up to monitor?

XenoXeno Registered User regular
edited December 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I have a Samsung 226bw which has a dvi port and a vga port. I picked up a 360 elite for my brother for Christmas. Thing is, I want to make sure that on Christmas eve, we can actually hook it up, haha. The dvi slot is currently taken so how does the 360 look if hooked up to VGA or is DVI vastly superior? Will I need this adapter?

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10067319&catid=26886#

edit: The PS3 is hooked up via dvi. I have a hdmi cable that converts into dvi. Can I use that, and the seperate av cables for the 360 to hook up the sound?

Xeno on

Posts

  • shadydentistshadydentist Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    Theres not a big difference between VGA and DVI. The microsoft adapter does fine, but I think its possible to find a cheaper one somewhere...

    and yes, you can hook up the AV cables separately.

    shadydentist on
    Steam & GT
    steam_sig.png
    GT: Tanky the Tank
    Black: 1377 6749 7425
  • DHS OdiumDHS Odium Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    Get the official Microsoft VGA cable, it comes with any switching adapters you may need, and is quality. I've seen bad results from cheaper, generic cables.

    DHS Odium on
    Wii U: DHS-Odium // Live: DHS Odium // PSN: DHSOdium // Steam: dhsykes // 3DS: 0318-6615-5294
  • WezoinWezoin Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    I bought an Xbox 360 VGA cable from Monoprice.com for about $10. Had to buy another $2 or so of parts to make the audio work with my computer speakers (it comes set up with the red and white wires as if to plug into a tv or receiver, so I bought a 2 female - 1 male .35mm adapter, and then a female .35mm to female .35mm adapter.) Took about 3 weeks to get here (ships from california) but I'm cheap and went for cheapest shipping. Works fantastically and I run it at 1080p. Also has optical out if you're into that.

    Wezoin on
  • XenoXeno Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    Ohh, ok. Hmm, I have an HDMI cable that hooks up into my PS3 via the HDMI slot and the other end is a dvi slot. Can I use that cable on the 360?

    Xeno on
  • WezoinWezoin Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    If you have it give it a shot. It'd probably work.

    Wezoin on
  • XenoXeno Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    Wezoin wrote: »
    If you have it give it a shot. It'd probably work.

    Well, I have it, but I can't open it up, haha. Thats why I want to make sure that when we do open it, I can hook it up without having to say I don't have the right cable or something.

    Xeno on
  • WezoinWezoin Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    Hmmm... I don't see why it wouldn't. I don't think theres any difference between the signal the 360 puts out over HDMI and the one the PS3 does. I know any HDMI cable will work with either of them, but I'm not sure if there would be an issue with whatever changes to the signal the adapter makes to make it go to a DVI cable, but I can't think of a reason there would be.

    Also, DVI only does video, so hopefully your HDMI to DVI cable includes some sort of audio connector as well.

    Wezoin on
  • XenoXeno Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    Wezoin wrote: »
    Hmmm... I don't see why it wouldn't. I don't think theres any difference between the signal the 360 puts out over HDMI and the one the PS3 does. I know any HDMI cable will work with either of them, but I'm not sure if there would be an issue with whatever changes to the signal the adapter makes to make it go to a DVI cable, but I can't think of a reason there would be.

    Also, DVI only does video, so hopefully your HDMI to DVI cable includes some sort of audio connector as well.

    It does not. But with the PS3, I plug in the supplied composite cables (red/white) into this converter so that I can hook it up to my computer speakers. Then on the PS3, I say I want video coming out from the HDMI and audio coming out of the av cables. You can do that with the 360 right?

    Xeno on
  • WezoinWezoin Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    I don't think so - I'm pretty sure the audio and video have to go out the same output on the 360.

    Wezoin on
  • shadydentistshadydentist Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    Xeno wrote: »
    Wezoin wrote: »
    Hmmm... I don't see why it wouldn't. I don't think theres any difference between the signal the 360 puts out over HDMI and the one the PS3 does. I know any HDMI cable will work with either of them, but I'm not sure if there would be an issue with whatever changes to the signal the adapter makes to make it go to a DVI cable, but I can't think of a reason there would be.

    Also, DVI only does video, so hopefully your HDMI to DVI cable includes some sort of audio connector as well.

    It does not. But with the PS3, I plug in the supplied composite cables (red/white) into this converter so that I can hook it up to my computer speakers. Then on the PS3, I say I want video coming out from the HDMI and audio coming out of the av cables. You can do that with the 360 right?

    You *can* do this. I believe the audio cables still function when the output is set to HDMI.

    shadydentist on
    Steam & GT
    steam_sig.png
    GT: Tanky the Tank
    Black: 1377 6749 7425
Sign In or Register to comment.