Club PA 2.0 has arrived! If you'd like to access some extra PA content and help support the forums, check it out at patreon.com/ClubPA
The image size limit has been raised to 1mb! Anything larger than that should be linked to. This is a HARD limit, please do not abuse it.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

[Computer Security Thread] DejaBlue worms? Sounds so familiar, it makes me WannaCry.

1616263646567»

• MugsleyMugsley Registered User regular
    To be clear, I have a Mech Eng degree and I'm looking into stuff like this because I have an affinity for technology and I'm debating on whether I'd like it as a change of pace (or just to pad my knowledge base). I work in a particular portion of the Fed that enjoys disassembling things, and cybersecurity is increasingly becoming its own department/focus in our organization.

I'm also looking into stuff like a Public Administration degree because I think it would help a lot if I decide to move into a management track (similar with cyber, since that will be an aspect of pretty much any work I do going forward).

Getting a MS in "more Engineering" doesn't interest me and I don't see it as a value-add because I'm not performing research or focusing heavily on a particular process (e.g. welding).

• DarkewolfeDarkewolfe Registered User regular
    Most of the fed jobs in "cyber security" are policy jobs. They're about running down a checklist on something you don't entirely understand and marking compliance or not. Classic auditing.