Options

Pukio's Sketchbook (NSFW)

PukioPukio Registered User regular
edited November 2012 in Artist's Corner
So, I'm basically a hobbyist when it comes to art - it's just something I've always done and I'd say I'm entirely self taught (barring one drawing class I took in this past fall).
I'll probably be dumping various sketching and so forth here in the future and in general I love critique; despite the fact that I don't really pursue doing art professionally, I definitely want to progress and improve and totally welcome any and all critique. I've never been one to take up a hobby passively and as much as art is something I do for fun, I wholeheartedly would like to be good at it haha.

Lately I've been working on some quicksie character sketches for a short project I'm working on based on a story I wrote for a ballet (read: schmoopy fairy tale).

southwind-1.jpg

north-1.jpg

eastwind.jpg

westwind.jpg

sailor-1.jpg

beauty.jpg

merchant.jpg

father.jpg

mother.jpg

Pukio on

• Options
    DirtyDirtyVagrantDirtyDirtyVagrant Registered User regular
    edited January 2010
    I actually like these.

There are some serious anatomical and proportional issues, particularly with the West Wind, where the head is too large, the arms are too short, the shoulder is sitting wrong, and the torso is too short.

If you're just a hobbyist I'm not sure what advice to give you. Check out the questions/tutorials thread. There's a whole list of books there you could benefit from reading. Draw some figures. Do some gestures. Copy stuff. Draw from photos. Draw that cute girl at the coffee shop. Draw that cute guy at the coffee shop?

Check out Posemaniacs (But the take the anatomy with a grain of salt)

Also the west wind reminds me of this
    38306914.jpg

DirtyDirtyVagrant on
  • Options
    edited January 2010
    Oh hey, thanks!

And yeah, I totally feel you re: head too big, arms too short (although I will say I'm kind of charmed by her torso).

MEANWHILE!: