As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Med School - GPA, alternatives (Graduate Student)

Hello everyone,

Ive recently been considering going into med school (switch of my thought of path in life) but i am a bit of a rut. Let me explain:

I am currently in my second semester of graduate study at a US university in Biology. I am a Canadian International Student.

My undergraduate GPA is quite disappointing in terms of Med School standards, a measely 3.12. I slacked off severely during my undergraduate years. I could have easily been a 3.8+ if not for a combination of my gaming enthusiasm and apathy for school :lol:. My Graduate GPA so far is 4.0 in the first semester, and am gearing to complete my thesis before january or may of 2011. If i treat graduate courses the same as undergraduate and add them together, i get about 3.3/3.4 assuming i get 4.0 the rest of the way.

Considering everything, should i make an effort to get into med school in these next 6 months (applications start around august-october)? I am severely lacking in extracurricular studies as well. My life would be packed full, MCAT, volunteering, writing the thesis, courses.

My old goal was to complete my M.Sc and then go into a PhD program then Post-Doc, etc. But these few months in graduate school has been relatively boring and i find myself lacking the great spark of interest in the things i am doing. I personally think it is mandatory for someone to have this lust for knowledge to become a good PhD :|

anyways, any comments would be great. Thanks ahead of time for the input.

Push Button / Receive Cat on

• Options
    TheOtherHorsemanTheOtherHorseman Registered User regular
    edited February 2010